What are the Seven Deadly Sins?

Article Details
  • Written By: wiseGEEK Writer
  • Edited By: O. Wallace
  • Last Modified Date: 26 April 2020
  • Copyright Protected:
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
In Disney theme parks, the photos of Walt Disney in which he is smoking have been altered to remove the cigarettes.  more...

June 4 ,  1989 :  The massacre in Tiananmen Square occurred, ending weeks of protests.  more...

The seven deadly sins, often shown in daunting capital letters, are sins defined by the early Catholic Church as mortal or cardinal sins. As such, committing one of them was, and still is to some people, a one-way ticket to eternal damnation, if a person died without the Sacrament of Reconciliation.

These sins are far more significant than other small sins one might commit, called venial sins. It was thought that lesser sins might not bar the way to heaven, if one died without the benefit of having confessed. However, the seven deadly sins were a sure impediment without true repentance and forgiveness. They harmed the soul, and were a significant affront to God.

The seven deadly sins are Pride, Envy, Wrath, Sloth, Greed, Gluttony and Lust. They each came to be associated with a certain demon as well. For example, Pride and Wrath were associated with Satan, Greed with Mammon, and Lust with Asmodeus. Leviathan was associated with Envy, Belphegor with Sloth, and Beelzebub with Gluttony. For many the world of demons was very real, and it was thought demons specifically tempted people to stray from the path of God.

There were also punishments in hell ascribed to each of the sins. First and foremost, according to Dante, is that committing one of the seven deadly sins meant never being able to escape from hell or see the face of God. In fact the agony in this permanent separation from God was the highest punishment.

Later, theologians tried to determine exactly what one would suffer for committing one of the seven deadly sins. Thus, for example, a person who was proud was broken on the wheel, the envious were placed in frozen water, the wrathful were dismembered, and the slothful were thrown into pits full of snakes. The greedy were boiled in oil, and the gluttonous had to eat toads. Those who were lustful, as in practicing adultery or unapproved sexual behaviors would be buried in fire and brimstone.

Each of the seven deadly sins contrasts specifically with the seven virtues. Instead of lust, one should practice chastity. Wrath or anger is opposite to meekness or composure. The greedy should instead be charitable, and humility helps to conquer pride. Sloth or idleness opposes diligence or zeal for work, and gluttony is opposite to temperance. Envy should be stamped out by kindness or admiring other people’s gifts and abilities.

You might also Like


Discuss this Article

Post 4

I certainly don’t want this to sound like bible study time but I just wanted to comment on what you are talking about. First, I want to say that this is a great article and has great conversation going.

Now, I will add my two cents, per se. In 1 John, 1:9, it states “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness”. In my opinion, that means that all sins are forgivable.

In addition, I don’t know of anywhere in the Bible where it states that the seven sins are “deadly”. It does, however, state that God detests the sins.

Post 3

@gardenturtle- I agree with snowywinter. I also believe that a sin is a sin in the eyes of God. In His eyes, no one sin is worse than another is. If the seven deadly sins were truly unforgivable, we would all be damned. I have certainly committed gluttony on more than one occasion. I have lusted for things that other people have.

I believe that, like the Ten Commandments, the seven deadly sins are meant to be guidelines. I would be curious to know where it says “deadly” in the Bible.

As snowywinter stated, these are just my beliefs and opinions and the seven deadly sins list is not technically "deadly".

Post 2

@gardenturtle- This is definitely a topic for debate. This is just my personal beliefs and opinions. The Bible does list the seven deadly sins but I believe that people misinterpret them. It is a misconception that there is no forgiveness for these sins. If they were unforgivable, many of us would be in big trouble, including myself. The Bible is clear that the only sin that is very unforgivable is nonbelief. Being a nonbeliever means that you don’t believe in forgiveness in the first place.

Post 1

I know that the seven deadly sins exist but I'm not sure about the eternal damnation part of it. I thought that God forgives all sins, no matter what they are. Having seven sins that are excluded doesn't make sense to me. Can anyone elaborate?

Post your comments

Post Anonymously


forgot password?