Which of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World Is Remaining?

The Great Pyramids of Giza Egypt--comprised of the Khufu, Khafra, and Menkaura Pyramids--was built in 2700 B.C. and is the only one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World that is remaining. The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World refer to the top art and architecture that was determined by ancient historians in the second century B.C. The remaining six have all been destroyed by nature or human force and include: Hanging Gardens of Babylon in modern Iraq, the statue of Zeus at Olympia in Greece, Temple of Artemis in modern Turkey, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus in modern Turkey, the bronze sculpture Colossus of Rhodes in Greece, and the Lighthouse of Alexandria in Greece.

More about the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World:

  • The Colossus of Rhodes sculpture is thought to have been the inspiration for the Statue of Liberty in New York City.
  • From 2700 B.C. until the 19th century, the Great Pyramid of Khufu was the tallest man-made structure in the world at 480 feet (146 m).
  • There have been no official records of the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, said to be as tall as 75 feet (22.9 m), which makes many historians disbelieve it ever existed.
More Info: history.com

Discuss this Article

Post your comments
Forgot password?