What is Chakra Awakening?

Article Details
  • Written By: G. Wiesen
  • Edited By: Heather Bailey
  • Last Modified Date: 12 October 2019
  • Copyright Protected:
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Fr. Thomas Byles, who refused to leave the sinking Titanic and stayed to help others, is a candidate for sainthood.  more...

October 21 ,  1879 :  Thomas Edison lit up a light bulb for the first time.  more...

Chakra awakening refers to the practice of releasing or awakening energy from the root chakra that moves upward through the body and is released at the crown chakra at the top of the head. Sometimes referred to as Kundalini awakening, and often a primary goal of Kundalini yoga practices, this act is considered a powerful moment of energy release that is said to have great healing abilities. It is also said to have the potential to harm someone who is not prepared for such a buildup and release of energy.

The chakras are seven locations in the human body that correspond to energy vortexes that govern the physical, emotional, and mental health of the person. These seven points are: the root chakra, found at the base of the spine; spleen or belly chakra, below the navel; solar plexus chakra, just above the navel; heart chakra; throat chakra; brow chakra; and the crown chakra, at the top of the head. Chakra awakening involves releasing power that is built up at the root chakra upward through the spine and the other chakras until it reaches the crown chakra and is released.


The process is often referred to as Kundalini awakening. Kundalini was a serpent goddess in Hindu myth that was said to live at the base of a person’s spine, wrapped around the root chakra and whose power is released through chakra awakening. A form of exercise and meditation known as Kundalini yoga is especially intended to help a person learn to harness and release this energy through chakra awakening. This process can often take years of practice and involves a number of different exercise and meditative techniques to successfully perform.

Those who do achieve chakra awakening, however, claim that the process has tremendous healing abilities, as it brings all seven chakras into greater harmony and balance. These seven points of energy are said to control the physiological, mental, and emotional well being of a person; therefore, creating balance and positive alignment between them assists in making a person happier and healthier. This process is not to be entered into lightly, however, as those who have achieved such chakra awakening often also describe a great deal of discomfort and pain involved in the process as the energy builds up within the person and is released.

For this reason, the practice of chakra awakening is often only taught by teachers who believe a student is prepared for the discipline involved. Frustration and anxiety can lead to negative consequences as the release of energy during chakra awakening can flood such negative emotions through a person and create potentially harmful or adverse side effects. Stories from ancient yoga masters even tell of students who could not control their own energies and were killed by the tremendous power within them, though these are likely only legends.


You might also Like


Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously


forgot password?