What is Six Sigma Training?

Article Details
  • Written By: Meghan Perry
  • Edited By: Amanda L. Wardle
  • Last Modified Date: 01 December 2019
  • Copyright Protected:
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Horses are responsible for more human deaths in Australia than all of the nation's venomous creatures put together.  more...

December 8 ,  1965 :  Pope Paul VI promulgated Vatican II into ecumenical law.  more...

Six Sigma training is a process in which employees at various levels within an organization learn how to implement and use certain principles of business. There are both technical and management aspects in which people can train, depending upon their role in an organization. The goal of Six Sigma, created in 1986, is to use data to make decisions, thereby eliminating unnecessary spending and product defects and improving customer service. Six Sigma training has been successful in a variety of industries, including manufacturing, nonprofit, healthcare, research, and government. The training can be customized to the needs of the organization.

There are several levels of Six Sigma training, and each level depends upon the trainee's role in the organization. The highest level is Executive Leader. This level offers information on improving different aspects of the organization, such as production or spending. Once these areas of improvement are identified, Executive Leaders produce strategies to make the necessary improvements.

The second-highest level in Six Sigma training is Champions. Individuals training at this level often have supervisory roles within an organization. Since it is generally recommended that training is done within the organization, Executive Leaders often train Champions.


Master Black Belts are the third level in Six Sigma training. They are trained as the liaison between upper management and the rest of the employees within an organization, often communicating management's plan to the staff. Black Belts implement the actual practice of the Six Sigma principles. They are often trained by other Master Black Belts.

The final two levels in Six Sigma training are Green and Yellow Belts. The main responsibility of these roles is to teach other employees the Six Sigma principles by example. All of the training levels are similar in what they teach, but the intensity varies depending on the level. For example, the Executive Leader training is often more intense than the Yellow Belt training.

Six Sigma training can be completed in several ways. There are many online training programs available. Sometimes this method is preferable, because it allows people to work at their own pace and around their own schedules. Live online courses and textbook-based training are also. Some companies may prefer the textbook-based training if they work better with a structured schedule.


You might also Like


Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously


forgot password?