What Is Lactose-Free Protein?

Troy Holmes

Protein is a natural muscle-building compound typically found in red meat and dairy products. A lactose-free protein is a protein found in non-dairy products. People with allergies to dairy typically eat this type of protein. The most popular dairy-free proteins are found in beans, vegetables, fish, and various red meats.

Lactose-free protein is commonly sold in powder form.
Lactose-free protein is commonly sold in powder form.

Lactose-free protein powder supplements are designed for people who need extra protein but are allergic to dairy products. Dairy-free protein is often made from soy or other plant-based proteins. Lactose-free, protein-rich foods such as beans and nuts are available at most supermarkets or grocery stores. Lactose-free protein is also available for most snack foods, which are a great option for kids who are allergic to milk products.

It's often helpful to print a guide to lactose-free foods and refer to it while grocery shopping.
It's often helpful to print a guide to lactose-free foods and refer to it while grocery shopping.

A person who is lactose intolerant requires strict meal planning to get adequate protein and daily nutrition. Lactose-free protein is available in most peanuts and meat products, which can be substituted for dairy products. Non-dairy protein is easy to find because it is available in many vegetables, fish, and poultry foods.

Many people have an allergy or intolerance to the lactose found in dairy products.
Many people have an allergy or intolerance to the lactose found in dairy products.

Egg protein is another high-quality protein that is lactose free. Many egg protein shake supplements are available at supermarkets and vitamin stores. These are also found in many snack foods, including candy bars and cakes.

An egg-based protein powder is made from dried egg whites. Egg protein powder takes a few hours to completely metabolize. Most people eat egg proteins in the morning or early afternoon to allow adequate time for the proteins to completely digest before sleeping.

There are milk proteins in most packaged snack foods. Eating foods that are lactose-free requires diligent analysis and careful shopping. Many lactose-free snack foods are available, but these typically require close scrutiny to ensure right kind of protein is purchased.

Protein bars are a great snack food that can add protein to a daily diet. There are several types of lactose-free protein bars available. These come in many tasty flavors and are a great energizing snack.

Dairy-free cupcakes are also a good snack option for people allergic to milk products. Adding nuts and peanut butter into cupcakes is a great way to make lactose-free protein cupcakes. These snacks taste great and have the added benefit of healthy proteins.

Red meat is a lactose-ree protein.
Red meat is a lactose-ree protein.

You might also Like

Readers Also Love

Discuss this Article

Post your comments
Login:
Forgot password?
Register: