What Is Dairy-Free Pastry?

Article Details
  • Written By: Leonardo Von Navorski
  • Edited By: C. Wilborn
  • Last Modified Date: 24 October 2019
  • Copyright Protected:
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Octopuses and other cephalopods sometimes change color while sleeping; this could indicate that they are dreaming.  more...

November 21 ,  1969 :  The first Advanced Research Projects Agency Network (ARPNET) link was permanently established for the first time.  more...

A dairy-free pastry is a sweet bread product made without dairy products such as milk and butter. The term "pastry" can apply to a number of sweet bread desserts, including croissants and danishes, and can also apply to crusts used to make pies. Pastries are generally categorized separately from other sweet bread-like desserts, such as cookies and cakes.

There are many reasons a person would want a dairy-free pastry versus a traditional pastry. For starters, some have food allergies and sensitivities to dairy products. Lactose intolerance is the most common issue, and because dairy products contain lactose, those with the sensitivity or allergy should not eat traditional dairy pastry. Another reason that someone may choose a dairy-free pastry is because he or she wants to avoid eating animal products. Although many vegetarians consume dairy products, vegans do not consume any foods that come from animals, including milk products and eggs.

In cases of lactose intolerance, a lactose-free milk can be substituted for the traditional milk. Someone who adheres to a vegan diet may change a pastry recipe to use soy, rice, or almond milk, and/or a vegan egg substitute. Vegetable shortening can generally be substituted for butter, although the recipe may require a bit of altering.


Some types of pastries are naturally dairy-free. For example, phyllo — also spelled filo — dough traditionally does not include butter or milk, although some recipes may call for the former. Some pie crust recipes call for vegetable shortening only, while others require butter.

Butter may be acceptable for those with a mild sensitivity to lactose, as it has a much lower lactose content than other dairy-derived products like milk and cheese. For example, butter contains 0.5 percent lactose while cow's milk generally contains approximately 5 percent. Even goat's milk, which is sometimes touted as being suitable for those without lactose sensitivities, has approximately 4.3 percent lactose.

Croissants are generally off limits for those looking for a dairy-free pastry, as most recipes call for a large amount of butter. Lactose-free or vegan substitutes are available, but may not achieve the same texture. Additionally, the recipe may require alteration.

Another issue to look out for when deciding on a dairy-free pastry is the filling, and/or topping. Some pastries, such as danishes, may be stuffed with a filling or have some of that filling or another topping drizzled on top. The filling may or may not be dairy-free.


You might also Like


Discuss this Article

Post 3

Baklava is a delicious dairy-free pastry. If honey is left out, it's also vegan. Unless someone has a nut allergy, I usually make baklava for my guests who are vegan or who don't eat dairy. It's always a hit!

Post 2

@SarahGen-- Those who follow a kosher diet cannot eat dairy and meat together. There are dairy-free kosher pastries for this reason which can be enjoyed at any time. Anything that is free of meat and dairy is called parve. So the rugelach you have is parve rugelach and it can be eaten after a meal which contains meat, for example.

There are lots of substitutes for dairy. The article mentioned many. Kosher pastries usually have vegetable oil or non-dairy margarine instead of butter. I eat kosher and I use vegetable oil for butter. For milk, I use a dairy-free creamer. I have to adjust the ingredients in recipes, but my pastries and desserts come out very good. I've even made dairy-free, kosher cheesecake and it was delicious. So dairy is not necessary.

Post 1

I bought some rugelach, a type of Jewish, kosher pastry recently. It was very fresh and very delicious. I noticed however that it said dairy-free on the label.

Why are some kosher pastries dairy-free? Is this a religious requirement? What is dairy replaced with in these recipes?

Post your comments

Post Anonymously


forgot password?