What Is Buckwheat Bread?

J. Airman

Buckwheat bread is bread based on buckwheat flour, which is made by grinding a small, grain-like dried fruit called buckwheat into a powder. Usually, buckwheat bread contains buckwheat flour as well as other types of flours to improve the texture and flavor of the bread. Most buckwheat bread is made with wheat flour, so it is not gluten free but may have reduced gluten levels. There are several different types of buckwheat bread, each designed for a different dietary restriction, or preference for flavor or texture.

Buckwheat flour is usually mixed with other flours to make buckwheat bread.
Buckwheat flour is usually mixed with other flours to make buckwheat bread.

Gluten-free buckwheat bread is usually made with rice flour mixed in. Most types of buckwheat bread also contain yeast, sugar and eggs, but some recipes for buckwheat breads omit the yeast and include baking powder as the leavening agent. Vegan bread recipes leave out the eggs, but may or may not include yeast.

Buckwheat bread is sometimes sweetened with raisins.
Buckwheat bread is sometimes sweetened with raisins.

Buckwheat has a relatively strong earthy flavor compared to other grains, which can be surprising to someone who is most familiar with the flavor of wheat bread. To make the bread tastier overall, buckwheat bread is often sweetened to a greater degree than typical wheat bread. This can be done by including a fruit, like raisins or bananas, in the bread, or it can be done by glazing the bread with melted honey or molasses. Molasses and honey impart a sweet flavor to the bread that blends with and tempers the strong earthy flavor of buckwheat.

Most people consider buckwheat to be a grain, but it is actually a small fruit that grows from a plant that looks quite a bit like ivy. True grains grow on straight-leaved grasses, and while buckwheat grows on a broadleaf plant, which has wide, traditional leaves. Buckwheat is one of several fruits similar to grains used to help people who are intolerant to gluten consume breads. Other gluten-free pseudograins used to make bread include amaranth and quinoa.

Gluten is a type of protein that is most common in foods made from wheat plants and plants related to wheat. Foods made from barley and rye grains can also contain gluten. Bread that is free of wheat gluten is important because some conditions, like celiac disease, mean the patient has an allergic reaction to gluten that can cause damage within the digestive system. Though celiac disease is a common type of gluten intolerance, patients may have many other digestive conditions caused by gluten intolerance that can benefit from a gluten-restricted diet.

Most buckwheat breads are made using wheat flour and are not gluten free.
Most buckwheat breads are made using wheat flour and are not gluten free.

You might also Like

Readers Also Love

Discussion Comments


I have an easy tip for enhancing the flavor of buckwheat bread.

When I make buckwheat bread, I add a little brown sugar and honey to the mixture before I put it into the oven to bake. These ingredients add a little bit of sweetness to the baked bread while diminishing the strong flavor of the buckwheat.

Another benefit of adding honey to your buckwheat bread recipe is that it makes the baked bread more moist. This type of bread has a tendency to be dry in my opinion, so I enjoy the moistness of adding more liquid to the mixture.


A good way to find the perfect buckwheat flour for making this rich, flavorful bread is to look in the organic section of your local grocery store, or shop at a natural foods store. You should be able to find organic buckwheat flour that is great for making bread and other buckwheat recipes like pancakes and muffins.

Post your comments
Forgot password?