What is a Chakra Pendant?

Article Details
  • Written By: Drue Tibbits
  • Edited By: Angela B.
  • Last Modified Date: 05 October 2019
  • Copyright Protected:
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
In 2014, scientists mapped a roundworm's brain and uploaded it into a Lego robot, which moved without instructions.  more...

October 15 ,  1969 :  The US Vietnam Moratorium march took place.  more...

A chakra pendant is a stylized piece of jewelry worn on a necklace to help balance one or more of the body’s seven main energy centers. People who practice chakra healing or balancing say each of the body’s energy centers, or chakras, corresponds with a specific color. Each color has a different vibration, and wearing a gemstone is said to utilize the vibrations of the stone's particular color to help balance the corresponding chakra and provide the wearer with emotional and physical well-being. Although each color of stone brings in a different energy, using all seven colors in a chakra pendant is said to balance all the chakras.

"Chakra" is a Sanskrit word meaning vortex or wheel. Chakras were first mentioned in ancient Hindu texts and refer to the seven main energy centers of the body. These energy centers, like a vortex, draw in information and energy from their surroundings. Chakras give off energy, as well, and give each person his own distinct aura. Disturbances or blockages of the chakras are said to cause emotional and physical problems.


Although every person has hundreds of chakras, there are seven main chakras. These are linked to the body’s seven endocrine glands and are aligned along the spine. Chakra pendants usually use seven gemstones, representing the seven main chakras, set in a straight line in the same order as the chakras are found on the body. A purple stone that represents the crown chakra at the top of the head is set at the top of the pendant, with the remaining six chakra stones set in order below it.

A person who wants to strengthen one chakra may wear a pendant with a single chakra stone. For instance, the heart chakra is associated with high blood pressure, asthma and muscle tension. The heart chakra is said to be strengthened and balanced with green color vibrations, so someone with these health issues may choose a chakra pendant with a single emerald or jade stone to help the heart chakra.

A chakra pendant that incorporates all seven color stones follows the purple stone by indigo, blue, green, yellow, orange and red stones. These stones represent the crown, brow, throat, heart, solar plexus, spleen and root. There are a variety of gemstones that can be used for each color. For example, the root chakra, associated with the adrenal gland, can be balanced using ruby, red jasper or flame agate stones. The brow chakra, associated with the pituitary gland, can be balanced using sapphire, azurite or lapis lazuli stones.


You might also Like


Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously


forgot password?