What are Vegan Desserts?

Mandi Rogier

Vegan foods cannot contain any type of animal product. Poultry, fish, and meat are the most obvious items that must be eliminated from this type of diet. Eggs, honey, and dairy products cannot be eaten by vegans either, and create a bigger problem when finding acceptable vegan desserts.

Applesauce can be used to make vegan desserts.
Applesauce can be used to make vegan desserts.

For any baked good to be considered vegan, it can not be made with eggs, milk, cream, or butter. Acceptable egg substitutes are soft tofu, applesauce, mashed banana, or cornstarch. Milk can be replaced with soy milk, nut milk, rice milk, or even water. For buttermilk, a mixture of soy milk and vinegar can be used as a substitution. Vegan margarine is available in some supermarkets and health food stores.

Many forms of Jell-O are considered vegan.
Many forms of Jell-O are considered vegan.

Placing several substitutions in a regular recipe can be tricky. Using a vegan recipe for baked goods is the best option for making satisfying vegan desserts. Vegan recipes can be found for cookies, cakes, pies, and brownies.

Tofu is a great egg substitute in vegan desserts.
Tofu is a great egg substitute in vegan desserts.

Fruit crisps and cobblers are among the easiest vegan desserts to make. For a quick and easy crisp, simply pour oatmeal prepared with soy milk or water over fruit. Blueberries, sliced apples, and peaches are great options. Fruit salads combined with vegan marshmallows and nuts are a simple dessert choice as well.

Vegan recipes can be found for brownies.
Vegan recipes can be found for brownies.

Nut products, such as peanut butter, are important to a vegan diet because of their protein content, which vegans may have trouble getting elsewhere. Desserts containing nuts such as chocolate peanut butter pie, or macaroons made with coconut and dates, can be healthful as well as delicious. Cookies are particularly easy to work nuts into, from peanut butter cookies to chocolate chip cookies loaded with extras such as pecans and almonds.

Cornstarch can sometimes be used as an egg substitute in vegan recipes.
Cornstarch can sometimes be used as an egg substitute in vegan recipes.

For those who prefer prepackaged dessert products, the People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) has put together a list of vegan baking mixes. Included on the list are Betty Crocker Bisquick baking mixes, Aunt Jemima Coffee Cake Mix, and Hodgson Mill Whole Wheat Gingerbread Mix. Several flavors of Duncan Hines&reg Creamy Home-Style Frosting made the list, as well as Pillsbury&reg Treat Toppers in chocolate or vanilla. Many Jello-O instant puddings are also considered vegan by PETA. Vegan baking products on PETA’s list include Crisco&reg Original Cooking Spray and All-Vegetable Shortening, Keebler&reg Ready Crust Graham Cracker Pie Crusts, and Blue Bonnet&reg Light Margarine.

When making a vegan apple pie, make sure that the crust contains no dairy or animal products.
When making a vegan apple pie, make sure that the crust contains no dairy or animal products.

By working creatively with dairy substitutes, nearly any traditional dessert can be made into a vegan dish. When purchasing packaged mixes, consumers should always double check the label to make sure that the contents adhere to vegan standards. Many products that aren’t labeled as vegan, still meet the appropriate requirements and can be used as delicious vegan desserts.

Fruit salad is a popular vegan dessert choice.
Fruit salad is a popular vegan dessert choice.
Coffee goes well with vegan desserts.
Coffee goes well with vegan desserts.
Vegan peanut butter cookies.
Vegan peanut butter cookies.
Bananas can be substituted for eggs in vegan desserts.
Bananas can be substituted for eggs in vegan desserts.
Coconut milk can be substituted for cow's milk in vegan desserts.
Coconut milk can be substituted for cow's milk in vegan desserts.
Blueberries are a popular option for use with vegan desserts.
Blueberries are a popular option for use with vegan desserts.
Soy milk is often used in lieu of cow milk when preparing vegan desserts.
Soy milk is often used in lieu of cow milk when preparing vegan desserts.
Ginger is vegan-friendly and is used in molasses cookies and gingerbread recipes.
Ginger is vegan-friendly and is used in molasses cookies and gingerbread recipes.

You might also Like

Readers Also Love

Discuss this Article

Post your comments
Login:
Forgot password?
Register: