What are the Different Types of Microsoft Professional Certification?

Article Details
  • Written By: Troy Holmes
  • Edited By: W. Everett
  • Last Modified Date: 27 February 2020
  • Copyright Protected:
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Insomnia is especially common among procrastinators, possibly because they worry about what they still need to do.  more...

April 3 ,  1860 :  The Pony Express made its first run.  more...

Microsoft® is one of the largest software companies in the world. It sells multiple products and services, including the Windows ® operating systems and Microsoft Office® software suite. Over the last decade Microsoft® has expanded into many markets including video games, identity-management services and digital music systems. Microsoft® professional certification programs are available for most of the Microsoft® technologies, including certifications for business users, IT professionals, developers, trainers, and architects.

The technology used in the computer industry is constantly changing. Certification programs are designed to ensure that qualified individuals are hired to support the critical infrastructure of an organization. Microsoft® professional certification programs are a vast set of programs that test users knowledge of the company's products.

The Microsoft® Certified IT Professional (MCITP) is a group of professional certifications available for IT professionals. Within MCITP, an individual can become specialized in server management, database management, desktop support, and enterprise messaging management. The MCITP is a Microsoft® professional certification designed to test IT professionals on specific low-level technologies.

The Microsoft® Certified Desktop Support Technician (MCDST) certification is designed for IT professionals who primarily work in the customer service area. This certification focuses on troubleshooting hardware and software operation issues related to Microsoft Windows®. This Microsoft7reg; professional certification is designed to test IT professionals for the jobs of help desk technician, customer support representative, or technical support specialist.


A database administrator (DBA) is responsible for managing the critical data resources of an organization. Microsoft® Certified Database Administrator (MCDBA) certification is a test for the DBA. This test validates an individual’s skill in designing, implementing, and administering Microsoft® SQL Server databases. The MCDBA is a one of many specific Microsoft® professional certifications designed for a particular skill set.

A software developer is responsible for designing and coding complex software for enterprise level organizations. The Microsoft® Certified Professional Developer (MCPD) certification is designed for IT professionals within the software development domain. This suite of tests validates an individual's ability to design, develop, and deploying applications related to Microsoft Visual Studio®.

The Microsoft® Certified Master (MCM) certification is an elite certification that requires extensive experience and testing. This program is designed for experienced IT professionals, which validates their ability to successfully design and implement complex business solutions with Microsoft® technology. The MCM is a Microsoft® professional certification that demonstrates an expertise in the areas of database management, Microsoft SharePoint®, Microsoft Exchange Server® or Active Directory Server.


You might also Like


Discuss this Article

Post 1

What are three resources which will show how these Microsoft office applications are used to support various work environments?

Post your comments

Post Anonymously


forgot password?