What Are the Different Types of Halal Soup?

Article Details
  • Written By: Mark Wollacott
  • Edited By: Lauren Fritsky
  • Last Modified Date: 15 October 2019
  • Copyright Protected:
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
As President of Uruguay, José Mujica refused to live in the presidential mansion and gave away 90% of his salary.  more...

October 16 ,  1964 :  China became the fifth country in the world to successfully detonate a nuclear bomb.  more...

There are many different types of halal soup. These types include normal chicken and beef stock soups. It also includes a wide variety of vegetarian soups such as corn soup. Fish soups are also permissible. The only soups that cannot be made into a halal soup are those containing animal blood, pork products and alcohol.

For a soup to be considered halal, it needs to meet a number of halal requirements according to Islamic law. Apart from the removal of banned products, the meat has to be produced in line with regulations and the food has to be produced in the absence of contaminating products. Such soups can be made at home or bought from manufacturers. Often manufacturers who produce halal soups will state that the soup is halal or will have a stamp of approval.

A meat halal soup, such as beef soup, mutton soup and chicken soup, must contain meat that has been slaughtered according to dhabiha. This means the animal has been blessed in Allah’s name and then had its throat slit so that the blood drains completely out of the animal. When the soup is produced, it cannot contain any pork products.


Types of meat soup include the basic mutton, beef and chicken varieties. It also includes oxtail and other birds such as quail and pheasant if so desired. The soups can be combined with vegetables, curries and other ingredients such as sweet and sour sauces.

According to the Qur’an, all fish products are halal. This means all fish soups, such as clam chowder and whole fish soups can be considered halal. Fish gelatin can also be used, alongside vegetable gelatin, to replace pork gelatin if it is needed in a fish soup. The same goes for fish and vegetable oils. Halal fish soups include scallop soups.

Vegetable soups are halal so long as they do not contain pork or blood products. This means that soups such as corn soup, pepper soup and others are halal. Other examples of vegetable halal soup include broccoli cheese soup, onion soup, carrot soup and bean soups.

Some brands produce a range of halal soups. These are special ranges that do not replace non-halal soup, but complement them to give buyers choice. Campbell’s, for example, offers 15 types of halal soup in Canada. With growing populations, the ranges of halal soup and the number of companies offering them are likely to increase. Opposition on religious or animal welfare grounds is also likely to increase unless a compromise is found.


You might also Like


Discuss this Article

Post 3

@bear78-- You are right that there isn't a consensus among Muslim authorities about the status of seafood. As far as I know, the Qur'an says "game" of the sea, which may refer to fish or all seafood in general. You might want to follow your local imam's advice about this.

There are many halal soup options, so I don't think anyone is forced to have clam chowder anyway. Chicken noodle, tomato and lentil soup are my favorite. Lentil soup is what's made most often at our house. It's very delicious, filling and full of protein. Basically any bean or vegetable soup is halal. But for soups containing meat like chicken noodle, the meat has to be halal.

Post 2

Is clam chowder really halal? I think some Islamic schools of thought actually hold the opinion that seafood aside from fish is no halal. I eat fish but I avoid seafood because I'm just not sure.

Post 1

I was once chatting with a few friends from South America. All was well until they proceeded to talk about their favorite soup -- a soup made of chicken blood. I can't remember what they called it, but needless to say, I was not very comfortable hearing all this. I eat a halal diet and blood, along with pork and alcohol, are on top of the list of things to avoid. Consuming something like that is just unimaginable and sinful too as per my faith.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously


forgot password?