What are the Different Chakra Colors?

Article Details
  • Written By: Amanda R. Bell
  • Edited By: R. Halprin
  • Last Modified Date: 05 October 2019
  • Copyright Protected:
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
In 1961, the Kennedy family was given a puppy named Pushinka; her mother was one of the first Soviet space dogs.  more...

October 17 ,  1777 :  The British surrendered to US military forces in the Battle of Saratoga.  more...

There are seven basic different chakra colors, each signifying a different idea or concept. These colors run in sections up the body and include red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and purple. In Hinduism, chakra colors represent energy that is believed to emanate from humans and control emotions and the body.

The base or root of the chakras is red, also known as muladhara. This color represents the grounding of the spirit to the earth and is believed to be responsible for feelings of inclusion and trust. In diagrams, the red chakra is located from the legs to the feet. The red chakra is believed to control the spine, immune system and lower body.

Orange is the second of the chakra colors and is sometimes called swadhisthana. Most commonly known for controlling fertility and sexuality, the orange chakra is also considered the center of creativity. It is located from the lower abdomen to the hips and is believed to control the sexual organs and intestines.

The yellow chakra is commonly called the solar plexus. Responsible for personal power and strength, this chakra is believed to be the source of a person's ability to achieve his or her goals. The third of the chakra colors is considered the energy that allows for cognitive understanding of emotional issues. In the physical sense, the solar plexus controls the upper abdomen, stomach, and the major organs in the area.


Green represents the heart chakra, which is also known as anahata. In modern variations of Hinduism, the green chakra may also be represented by the color pink. It controls not only feelings of love but also hate, as well as every emotion in between. The fourth of the chakra colors is believed to control the heart and blood in a person's body.

The throat and neck are believed to house the fifth chakra, represented by the color blue. Known as visuddha in Sanskrit, the blue chakra controls the neck, hands, and arms of the body. In Hinduism, the blue chakra is believed to only be in balance when a person is being honest; lying can have severe consequences on the physical health of this area.

Indigo, the color of the third eye, is located on the forehead. The sixth of the chakra colors is responsible for a person's connection to his or her subconscious as well as the connection with the universe as a whole. Sometimes written as ajna, the indigo chakra is responsible for intuition and can be thrown off balance by a lack of personal integrity.

Purple or violet represent the crown chakra, located at the very top of the head. Written as sahasrara in Sanskrit, this chakra is believed to be responsible for knowledge and a connection with a higher power. Imbalance of the last of the chakra colors is believed to effect every other chakra, thereby leading to a lack of peace in a person's life.


You might also Like


Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously


forgot password?