What Are Halal Burgers?

Article Details
  • Written By: Mark Wollacott
  • Edited By: Lauren Fritsky
  • Images By: Gena, Aleksandar Todorovic, Egypix, Mikey
  • Last Modified Date: 15 October 2019
  • Copyright Protected:
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
In 2014, scientists mapped a roundworm's brain and uploaded it into a Lego robot, which moved without instructions.  more...

October 15 ,  1969 :  The US Vietnam Moratorium march took place.  more...

Halal burgers are burgers that use meat and other ingredients that are in line with Islamic law. In order to be considered halal, the halal burger needs to contain no blood or pig-related products such as bacon. Apart from these exceptions, the burger can contain the usual variety of ingredients including mustard, ketchup, cheese and pickles.

Halal means “lawful” in Arabic and covers a wide range of Islamic laws. Those pertaining to slaughter are known as dhabiha. The meat used in halal burgers must come from animals that have had their throats slit and have been dedicated to the Islamic god, Allah. The animal is then left strung up so that it is bled dry. This act must be performed by a person of the book, meaning any Muslim, Jew, Christian and a few others such as Sabaeans.

The basic composition of the burger remains the same as before. The patty itself is made in the same way, but the burger company or the individual has gone to the time and expense of ensuring that not only is the meat thoroughly sourced and halal, but also that the machines and other products are not tainted with non-halal meat.


The consumption of halal food, including the halal burger, is not compulsory in Islam. If the option is there to eat a halal burger instead of non-halal versions, then the Muslim must, according to Islamic law, choose the halal burger. If, however, there are no halal burgers or other halal food available, then according to the Qur’an, it is no sin to eat non-halal burgers.

The move towards halal burgers has caused controversy in a number of countries including France and Britain. First and foremost, public officials in France have complained about the removal of bacon from menus and its replacement with turkey. This, they claim, is a violation of the freedom of choice of non-Muslims. Second, the halal method of slaughtering cattle to make the burgers is contrary to the British beliefs concerning animal rights and the fairest means of slaughtering cattle for meat. Animal welfare organizations have pointed out that dhabiha causes immense suffering to animals, but this is disputed by others and no resolution has been made on the issue.

Despite such protest, the halal burger has gained in popularity and other fast food products have become halal-friendly, too. This has been done to cater to the growing Muslim populations of a number of cities and to avoid calls of discrimination against Muslims. Whether a balance between the two or whether religious beliefs will win over animal rights remains to be seen.


You might also Like


Discuss this Article

Post 3

Halal and kosher are similar right? Can Muslims eat kosher burgers? I realize that more and more halal restaurants are opening up but kosher restaurants may be a viable option as well.

Post 2

Aside from the meat being halal (animals that are treated humanely and slaughtered in a specific name after pronouncing Allah's name), the side dishes for burgers need to be halal as well. One major concern is the oil used to fry potato fries which are served with burgers. The oil needs to be vegetable oil and nothing else. The fries and condiments should also not have any additives that are non-halal. It's actually a kind of long and thorough process to inspect all of these things.

I love burgers and for years, I made the at home with halal meat and ingredients. But of course, nothing is quite like a restaurant burger and if a halal burger shop opened up near me, I'm sure I'd frequent it often.

Post 1

The issue in places like United Kingdom where there are people of all faiths and a large number of Muslims, is that a restaurant is either halal or not. If non-halal products like pork are served at a restaurant along with halal foods, people will worry about cross-contamination. So in order for a restaurant's food to be halal, the whole menu really needs to be.

I think this is a great challenge for chain restaurants who want to see more Muslims buying from them, while not losing their current customers.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously


forgot password?