Category: 

What is Quark?

Cheesecloth has a loose,woven texture.
Article Details
  • Written By: Mary McMahon
  • Edited By: Bronwyn Harris
  • Last Modified Date: 23 July 2014
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2014
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
New Delhi, India is the most polluted city in the world.  more...

July 23 ,  1967 :  The Detroit Riots, one of the worst riots in US history, started.  more...

Quark is a form of Central European soft cheese which is especially popular in Germany, where a number of dairies produce it. It is possible to find quark in other regions of the world, although it may take a bit of hunting, depending on where you live. When you do find it, it may be a bit expensive, as this cheese is a bit fragile, requiring careful handling along the way to market. Quark cheese can also be made at home, if you are comfortable with the cheesemaking process; this cheese is relatively easy to make.

Quark is a fresh cheese, traditionally made with unpasteurized milk, although versions available in stores may be made with pasteurized milk, out of concern for consumer safety. In any case, the cheese only keeps for around a week, requiring people to use it quickly. Fortunately, quark is incredibly versatile, being useful in everything from dips to cheesecakes. This cheese has a mild, slightly tangy flavor which pairs well with a variety of foods.

Ad

Traditional quark cheese is pale cream to white in color, very thick, and creamy. Some people mistake quark for cream cheese, a similar product, but quark is a bit thinner than cream cheese, and it is made in a different way. Quark can be spread on bread plain, blended with herbs and spices to make a flavored spread, or it may be used like cream cheese in cheesecakes. It can also be offered as a dessert cheese or made into a rich cheese custard which can be served with fruit or other foods.

Classically, quark is made without rennet, which means that this cheese is safe for vegetarians and observant Jews to eat. It is made by heating milk, mixing it with a culture, and then stirring the milk as it curdles. The stirring keeps the quark cheese creamy, ensuring that it will be smooth, rather than grainy. Once the cheese has thickened, it is hung in a cheesecloth bag to allow the whey to drain off, and then it is typically packed into a small clay or glass pot for storage.

In some parts of Europe, rennet may be added to quark to thicken this cheese, catering to the tastes of people who want a denser cheese. If the consumption of rennet is a concern for you, look for quark cheese which is labeled as kosher or pareve, indicating that it has been certified by a rabbi as safe to eat for observant Jews. Because Jewish dietary law forbids the consumption of meat and milk together, a kosher cheese cannot contain rennet.

Ad

Discuss this Article

anon116600
Post 5

What kind of cheese could be used in place of quark if you cannot find it?

anon75540
Post 4

I buy frozen quark -- I guess the store keeps it there as it sells too slowly. It is fine frozen.

anotherpam

anon69659
Post 3

A Kosher Quark will never be marked Parve as it is a dairy product. Parve or Pareve indicate that the product contains neither meat or dairy as defined in Jewish Dietary Law. If it is marked kosher it will usually be marked kosher and Dairy. And will not contain animal rennet.

anon46511
Post 2

"quark is made without rennet....Once the cheese has thickened, it is hung in a cheesecloth bag to allow the rennet to drain off." If is made without rennet, then surely it is hung to allow the *whey* to drain off, not rennet as it says above.

Moderator's reply: You are correct and the article has been edited. Thanks for catching this and for reading wiseGEEK!

justpam
Post 1

Can quark be frozen if needed?

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email