Category: 

What Is Kosher Honey?

Article Details
  • Written By: Nya Bruce
  • Edited By: Rachel Catherine Allen
  • Last Modified Date: 22 November 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
NASA scientists have discovered a class of stars with atmospheric temperatures cooler than the human body.  more...

December 2 ,  1982 :  The first permanent artificial heart was implanted in a human.  more...

Kosher honey is any raw honey that is 100 percent natural and free of additional ingredients. The fact that pure honey is considered kosher is frequently a source of much confusion, particularly for those who are just learning about what foods are kosher and why. Confusion over kosher honey stems from the fact that bees are considered non-kosher, or unclean animals. Generally, if the insect or animal is impure or unclean, then the food that comes from the insect is also impure or unclean. This does not apply when it comes to bees and honey, because the honey is not actually produced by the bee.

In understanding kosher honey, it is necessary to understand how bees produce honey. The physical makeup of bees provides them with two stomachs. One of these stomachs gives the bees the ability to store the nectar that they take from the blossoms of plants. This stomach is referred to as the honey sac or the honey stomach. Blossoms that provide the bees with the nectar for their honey sacs are of the Earth and are considered kosher.

Ad

When the honey sac is full an enzyme is released and the nectar begins to break down into complex sugars. Once processed, the nectar is then taken to the honeycomb where the process of turning the nectar into honey is completed. The fact that honey is not actually a product of the bee or the bee's body is what makes it a kosher product.

Although it is not necessary for 100 percent pure honey to be certified, some people may prefer to purchase certified kosher honey. Honey that is sold as certified has undergone a specific processing procedure and is packaged in a manner that is in compliance with Jewish regulations for kosher food. A kosher certification organization or agency then certifies the product.

Honey turns into a non-kosher food when other ingredients are added, such as corn syrup or if the honey is altered in any way. Flavored honey is not typically considered kosher if there have been artificial, non-kosher flavorings or dye added to the honey. This does not mean that all flavored honeys are non-kosher. Certain types of honey will be labeled with the name of the blossoms that the nectar came from, such as orange blossom honey. For this reason it is important to check the label prior to purchasing any type of honey that has not been certified as kosher honey, to ensure that it is raw and pure.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

ZipLine
Post 3

@bear78-- Pure honey means unprocessed honey. Almost all honey sold at grocery stores are processed. That's why I specifically purchase honey that's kosher certified.

bear78
Post 2

@burcinc-- Pure honey is kosher. There is no ifs and buts about it. I purchase pure, organic natural honey. I don't necessarily look for kosher honey. Any pure honey is fine.

As for sugar-fed bees, I don't know about that to be honest. But if you purchase organic honey, that won't be an issue.

It seems that the description for kosher foods is becoming more and more specific, limiting further what people who follow Jewish dietary laws can consume. Anything that comes from the earth and is pure is kosher and can be consumed. If we become obsessed about this and look for ways to label kosher foods as non-kosher, that will be wrong.

burcinc
Post 1

Kosher honey is a confusing topic. Although the ingredients that make honey don't come from bees, they are formed into honey inside a bee's body or with its help. So I understand why some people might not consider honey kosher.

Also, some honey today is not made from flower nectar but rather table sugar. I have seen pictures of it, beekeepers place regular sugar near bee hives and the bees feed off of it. Is this type of honey kosher? I think it's not, especially if the sugar that the bees feed on is processed.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email