Category: 

What Is Kosher Gelatin?

Article Details
  • Written By: Cindy Quarters
  • Edited By: S. Pike
  • Last Modified Date: 01 November 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Contrary to popular belief, monkeys do not eat bananas in the wild because the banana is a cultivated fruit.  more...

December 6 ,  1877 :  Edison demonstrated the first sound recording.  more...

Gelatin is a substance usually made from animal parts, notably bones and ligaments, but also the skins. These parts are processed to release the collagen in them, and gelatin is derived from that. Gelatin is used for foods such as molded gelatin desserts and marshmallows, to make capsules for medicine, and to clarify wine and beer and for food preservation. Kosher gelatin is the same as all other gelatin, except that the source of the collagen must be kosher.

Gelatin was originally made by boiling calves’ feet in huge kettles for hours. Eventually the liquid was strained off and the bones and hooves were discarded. The resulting liquid would sit for 24 hours, after which time a layer of fat would have risen to the top. This fat would be skimmed off and thrown away, and then flavoring and sweetener would be added to the liquid. Finally, the gelatin was poured into bowls or molds and allowed to set before serving.

In the mid-1800s, Charles Knox, along with others, began to prepare and sell sheets of dried gelatin. They taught housewives how to use these to prepare gelatin dishes, instead of having to go through the entire preparation process themselves. The idea caught on and Knox’s wife published a recipe book for gelatin shortly before the end of the century.

Ad

At the time, there was not much concern with making kosher gelatin commercially. Although Knox and others had some success with the sales and marketing of plain gelatin, those who wanted to ensure their food was kosher did not have a ready commercial source of the product. Women continued to make kosher gelatin at home, by the same laborious process that had been used for many years.

The essential difference between kosher gelatin and all other gelatin is that the kosher gelatin must be made from kosher sources. There cannot be any so-called unclean animals or parts from animals not butchered according to kosher law in the gelatin. Making kosher gelatin uses essentially the same process as has been used for hundreds of years, with some modern updates, but only kosher ingredients are involved.

In the 21st century, kosher gelatin is readily available from commercial sources. Different manufacturers use different sources for the collagen that is the basis for the gelatin. They may use deep sea fish, cattle or plant-based collagen, all of which are kosher. Which type of kosher gelatin is used is largely a personal preference. The most important thing for Jewish people wishing to eat only kosher products is that the gelatin must be labeled as kosher, because if it doesn’t say it on the package, no matter which collagens were used, it isn’t kosher.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

ddljohn
Post 4

Certification is really very important for kosher products. There are committees that analyze and determine whether a product is prepared completely according to kosher regulations. These certifications are not just given out. There is someone overseeing every step of the process, from the first to the last, to make sure that everything is done properly. That's why shoppers of kosher products must make sure that the label of a product says kosher.

fBoyle
Post 3

@serenesurface-- That's a good question. Kosher gelatin is gelatin prepared according to Jewish regulations. Halal gelatin is gelatin prepared according to Islamic regulations.

They are similar in the sense that some of the regulations are the same. For example, both kosher and halal gelatin is devoid of pig parts. And the way the animals are butchered are similar. However, I am sure that religious leaders of both faiths would recommend sticking to either kosher or halal foods as per religious rules and customs.

If you are not a follower of either faith and simply want gelatin that is free of pig parts, you can definitely enjoy both types of gelatin products.

serenesurface
Post 2

What is the difference between kosher gelatin and halal gelatin? Can they be substituted for one another?

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email