Category: 

What Is Halal Wine?

Article Details
  • Written By: Lakshmi Sandhana
  • Edited By: PJP Schroeder
  • Images By: Mikey, 2Bears
  • Last Modified Date: 30 October 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
A recent study suggests that former acne sufferers are more likely to retain a youthful appearance as they age.  more...

December 9 ,  1979 :  The eradication of smallpox was certified.  more...

Halal wine is a type that has no alcohol content. Wine and other forms of alcohol are forbidden in Islam, so a type of nonalcohol wine was developed to allow Muslims to drink without going against the rules of the Qur'an. Halal wine makers produce it under very exacting conditions, and it goes through a number of religious and technical examinations before being certified as halal. The wine is certified by the Halal Institute of the Islamic Board or the Halal Quality Control.

The first patent for wine without alcohol was registered as early as 1908, but all the wines available in the market had at least 0.5% of alcohol. This made it impossible for followers of Islam to have any wine because it was declared as haraam in addition to any form of alcohol and narcotics. According to the Quran, any substance consumed, whether it be drunk, smoked, or eaten, with the intent of getting intoxicated is haraam. This applies even if the substance contains alcohol in very small quantities, such as teriyaki sauce. Foods that may contain very minute traces of alcohol as a result of chemical reactions in the manufacturing process are exempt.

Ad

The teachings prohibit alcohol and gambling as Satan's handiwork; the objections include the belief that drinking alcohol distracts Muslims from their prayers, and it was declared to be one of the most shameful of all evils. Muslims had to abstain from drinking all wine until very recently, when halal wine became available. Wine makers state that halal wine has half the calorific value of alcoholic wine and that it confers numerous side benefits. The wine is considered to be useful in inhibiting arteriosclerosis and reducing the risk of developing cancer.

The process of making halal wine involves vacuum distilling at low temperatures, which preserves its flavors — its taste is supposed to come very close to the real thing. More than mere unprocessed grape juice, the alcohol-free wine is available only at very select outlets. There are numerous types available, including white, bubbly, sparkling, and red halal wine. This wine not only gives Muslims more drink options at social events, but it is also a good alternative for the health conscious, pregnant women, and vehicle drivers. It makes it possible for those who love a glass of wine to have a drink and not experience any intoxicating aftereffects.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

bear78
Post 3

I've had halal wine. It was okay. I don't know if it tastes like regular wine since I've never had any. It was sweet and sparkling. It reminded me of the alcohol-free wine sold for children at the grocery store.

candyquilt
Post 2

@ysmina-- I see your point, but I can also see how halal wine can be a good option at social events where it's customary to raise a toast for example. Of course, other halal drinks can be used too. But some people might want that option, not necessarily to fit in but to complete the custom.

ysmina
Post 1

I had never heard of halal wine before. I've certainly never seen it or tasted it. Halal wine may be halal, but I don't really see the point in making it. Is it really necessary for there to be a halal version of wine? If people want the benefits of fruit juice, they could just have halal grape juice or something.

As for drinking halal wine to fit in or to have something to do at social events, I've never believed that Islam is about fitting in. I personally don't feel the need to fit in when people around me are consuming alcohol. I'm always happy and proud to follow my religious beliefs so I've never had the feeling that I should fit in or be accepted. So even if I was offered halal wine, I think I'd decline.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email