Category: 

What Is Halal Pizza?

Article Details
  • Written By: A. Leverkuhn
  • Edited By: Andrew Jones
  • Images By: Aleksandar Todorovic, Orhan Çam, Mikey
  • Last Modified Date: 21 September 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
In late 19th-century London, mail was delivered to residential addresses up to twelve times each day.   more...

September 28 ,  1924 :  Two US military planes complete the first flights around the world.  more...

Halal pizza is a type of pizza that is considered permissible in Islamic dietary law. A set of dietary laws, called halal, delineate what Muslims can eat, according to the tenets of their faith. The category of foods labeled “halal” is set against another category called “haram,” or foods which are prohibited.

In many communities, Muslims make efforts to find specific types of foods that are considered halal. Complex foods like pizza are often more difficult to evaluate, since they include many different kinds of ingredients that can all be either halal or haram. Halal pizza is pizza that only contains halal ingredients, and has not been contaminated with haram ingredients. The halal designation applies to either fresh pizza in a restaurant or pre-prepared frozen products.

The major rules for halal food products have to do with animal products and how they are produced. One primary rule is that Muslims cannot eat pork products. Another rule is that other animals used in halal cooking need to be slaughtered in a very precise way. This adds to the difficulty of selecting halal foods, since many major food producers do not slaughter animals in a halal fashion. Halal slaughtering requires a quick cut to various parts of the animal in order to kill it in a humane way.

Ad

One of the primary issues in finding halal pizza options is the ingredients that go into the dough. Even a vegetarian pizza can some types of processed dough that include animal products like lard or fat. This can make pizza haram.

Another issue with halal pizza is the sauce. The tomato sauce used in pizza may or may not contain animal products. Some types of tomato sauce include animal stock, or even small pieces of Italian sausage that may be made from pork. Halal pizza requires a vegetarian sauce, or a a tomato sauce that does not have pork or other haram ingredients.

When selecting halal pizza, Muslims and others who eat halal foods also need to consider the toppings. Pizza is a dish with many optional toppings, and some of these are halal while others are haram. Vegetable toppings are halal unless they have been cross-contaminated. Some of the traditional meat toppings for pizza are not halal, and should not be included on a halal pizza.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

stoneMason
Post 3

@fBoyle-- Yea, I think if you want to be 100% sure that your pizza is halal, you need to make it at home with all halal ingredients.

There are quite a few halal pizza restaurants in the UK and I've seen a few in New York as well. If there is a large Muslim population in your area, a halal pizza restaurant may open up near you as well.

ysmina
Post 2

@fBoyle-- Well if the cheese, the dough and tomato sauce are halal, then it is. But if the pizza shop is not certified halal, it's very difficult to know. The rennet used to make cheese is sometimes not halal and there is always the possibility of contamination with non-halal ingredients.

I suppose it depends on how strict one is when it comes to a halal diet. I personally do eat cheese pizza or vegetarian pizza. I think that if I become obsessed about every single ingredient or which pizza cutter the employee used when cutting my pizza, eating out will be impossible.

I think that Islam has made halal and haram clear. And as long as I avoid

the major things like pork, alcohol, blood, etc, it will be fine. But I don't want to affect your opinion. If you're unsure, then you can speak to the restaurant about their ingredients. And asking the local imam for advice is always a good idea.
fBoyle
Post 1

So a cheese pizza without pepperoni or a vegetarian pizza from a regular pizza shop is not halal?

Post your comments

exception 'Exception' with message 'error writing captcha: Duplicate entry '2147483647' for key 'PRIMARY'' in /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/_core/classes/public/Captcha.php:44
Stack trace:
#0 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/_core/controls/public/ControlDiscussionPostBox.php(324): Captcha->createCaptcha()
#1 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(104): ControlDiscussionPostBox->preRender(false)
#2 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(149): Control->render()
#3 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/tpl/default-nocustom-lu/pages/public/article/article.htm(526): Control->__toString()
#4 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(300): require('/ssd/www/wisege...')
#5 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(309): Control->requireTpl('pages/public/ar...', Object(PageArticleCom), true)
#6 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(131): Control->renderTpl('pages/public/ar...', Object(PageArticleCom))
#7 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/FormDataControl.php(87): Control->renderTemplate()
#8 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(109): FormDataControl->renderTemplate()
#9 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/ScriptPage.php(50): Control->render(false)
#10 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(149): ScriptPage->render()
#11 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Page.php(97): Control->__toString()
#12 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/_core/classes/public/PublicFrontController.php(443): Page->processRequest()
#13 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/_core/classes/public/PublicFrontController.php(7): PublicFrontController->renderPage()
#14 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/index.php(11): PublicFrontController::run()
#15 {main}