Category: 

What Is Halal Ice Cream?

Article Details
  • Written By: A. Leverkuhn
  • Edited By: Andrew Jones
  • Images By: Aleksandar Todorovic, Orhan Çam, Mikey
  • Last Modified Date: 10 September 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Roughly one-fifth of the world's stock of gold - worth over $200 billion USD - is stored under the streets of London.  more...

September 30 ,  1949 :  The Berlin Air Lift ended.  more...

Halal ice cream is ice cream that conforms to specific standards promoted by Islamic dietary laws. Although many varieties of ice cream are halal, some are not, and this leads Muslims to extensive conversations about what kinds of ice cream are halal. The general term “halal,” or “law,” refers to a wide set of rules for Muslims that includes somewhat strict dietary requirements. Thus, foods like ice cream that may not be in compliance with these regulations are not “halal.”

One issue with making halal ice cream is that the vanilla extract used to treat many flavors of ice cream is not always considered halal. This is because methods of extraction for this element may include the use of alcohol. Vanilla and other similar flavors of ice cream may not be halal for this reason.

Another issue with halal ice cream regards the use of bovine growth hormones in cows. In some Islamic communities, there is controversy and debate over whether these items in the feed of cows make the resulting animal products non-compliant with halal standards. This issue has not been widely resolved, and continues to get attention from those who are looking for clear designations on halal products.

Ad

The use of additional animal products can also interfere with the designation of an ice cream product as halal. For example, additional fats added to the food can compromise the halal designation, though this is not commonly done. A more frequent issue with added animal products is the use of gelatin in ice cream and other dairy products. While some experts believe that types of gelatin sometimes disqualify ice cream products for halal compliance, others feel that the most common gelatin products are still halal as long as they don’t come from pigs, since pork is a food widely considered to violate halal standards.

Many Muslims have confusion over what exactly constitutes halal ice cream. Some experts have urged the average halal shopper to use the guide of kosher designations, where foods that qualify as kosher are also likely to qualify as halal. Others recommend taking only basic common sense precautions avoiding non-halal products, and not worrying about gray areas of the dietary laws. Those who want to consume only halal foods can get further guidance from experts in their local communities, or more information from various ice cream manufacturers about exactly what goes into their products.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

donasmrs
Post 3

@litearlly45-- I live in an urban area and there is a kosher market in my area that actually sells halal ice cream. It's just one product, so there aren't many options. But you can check halal markets or Middle Eastern groceries.

The best way to get halal ice cream actually would be to make it yourself at home. That way, you'll know what ingredients go into it and there will be no doubts about it being halal or not.

Others mentioned vanilla extract not being allowed. But I think that real vanilla bean is allowed. There is also something called vanilla paste which is made from vanilla and sugar. As far as I know, it doesn't contain alcohol. I bet you can make some very delicious ice cream at home with high quality, halal ingredients. It would be way better than store ice cream.

literally45
Post 2

Where can I buy halal ice cream? Or should I just buy kosher ice cream?

SteamLouis
Post 1

If we are to look at every single ingredient, additive and processing agent used to make commercial ice cream closely, then I don't think that even one ice cream would qualify as halal. I don't think that most Muslim shoppers are even aware of this though. I definitely was not aware of it until today.

For example, I had no idea that natural vanilla flavoring is considered haram because it is made with vanilla extract and the extracting agent is alcohol. One part of me thinks that the small amount of alcohol that may be found in ice cream as a result of the vanilla ingredient would not make the ice cream haram. I've always considered alcohol as something

that intoxicates and I've never heard of anyone getting intoxicated from ice cream.

On the other hand, Islam is very clear about alcohol and technically the presence of any alcohol in food would make that food non-halal. But this is an argument that would have to be considered on many basis because if all extracts are made with the use of alcohol, then are some medicines haram as well?

Post your comments

exception 'Exception' with message 'error writing captcha: Duplicate entry '2147483647' for key 'PRIMARY'' in /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/_core/classes/public/Captcha.php:44
Stack trace:
#0 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/_core/controls/public/ControlDiscussionPostBox.php(324): Captcha->createCaptcha()
#1 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(104): ControlDiscussionPostBox->preRender(false)
#2 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(149): Control->render()
#3 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/tpl/default-nocustom-lu/pages/public/article/article.htm(526): Control->__toString()
#4 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(300): require('/ssd/www/wisege...')
#5 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(309): Control->requireTpl('pages/public/ar...', Object(PageArticleCom), true)
#6 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(131): Control->renderTpl('pages/public/ar...', Object(PageArticleCom))
#7 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/FormDataControl.php(87): Control->renderTemplate()
#8 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(109): FormDataControl->renderTemplate()
#9 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/ScriptPage.php(50): Control->render(false)
#10 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Control.php(149): ScriptPage->render()
#11 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/framework/classes/Page.php(97): Control->__toString()
#12 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/_core/classes/public/PublicFrontController.php(443): Page->processRequest()
#13 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/_core/classes/public/PublicFrontController.php(7): PublicFrontController->renderPage()
#14 /ssd/www/wisegeek/public_html/index.php(11): PublicFrontController::run()
#15 {main}