Category: 

What Is Halal Gelatin?

Halal markets sell a wide variety of halal foods, including halal gelatin.
In a general sense, "halal" means "lawful" in Arabic, and refers to that which is permitted under the rules of Islam.
Halal food must not contain any pork products.
Halal gelatin must be prepared from sources approved by Islamic law.
Article Details
  • Written By: Mark Wollacott
  • Edited By: Lauren Fritsky
  • Images By: Mikey, Aleksandar Todorovic, Caspernhdk, Orhan Çam
  • Last Modified Date: 15 October 2014
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2014
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
The oldest known tortoise is 182 years old, and is believed by scientists to be the oldest living land creature.  more...

November 23 ,  1936 :  The modern version of "Life" magazine published its firs  more...

Halal gelatin is a type of gelatin that is made from other sources that conform to the precepts of Islamic Law, which include a ban on using any pig products. This particular gelatin performs the exact same functions as normal pig-based gelatin. Halal gelatin is an important part of foods, cosmetics, photography and in the creation of some types of paper.

When it comes to food products that are acceptable or unacceptable for Muslims to consume, two words crop up again and again: halal and haram. Halal means lawful and haram means forbidden. There are strict rules concerning how animals must be slaughtered and what products cannot find their way into foods. Gelatin poses a particularly interesting issue for the halal diet, as it is often extracted from the bones and skins of pigs.

There are two points of debate about whether gelatin is halal. First, if the gelatin uses pig bones, then it is automatically not halal. The second point is potentially more nebulous. Muslims are forbidden from eating carrion, and if the bones do not count as carrion, they must be from an animal slaughtered according to Islamic Law.

Ad

The halal status of gelatin is an important point for Muslims because a large number of desserts, as well as some other food products, contain gelatin. For example, a Muslim must think twice about desserts such as ice cream, cheesecakes and parfaits unless they contain halal gelatin. The same can be said of many cakes, chocolates, puddings and candies. The only way Muslims can make certain the product contains halal gelatin is if the product is specifically stamped as halal.

One way for Muslims to be certain that gelatin is halal is to buy vegetarian-friendly gelatin. A large number of products have converted their production methods to use vegetarian-friendly gelatin in order to broaden the appeal of their products without having to drastically alter the product itself. This means vegetarian-friendly desserts like cheesecakes and ice cream will contain halal gelatin.

Another alternative is to buy gelatin from specific halal gelatin producers. These gelatins can be made from cows sacrificed to Allah or plants without any pork contamination. Halal gelatin products are limited but continually being researched.

Ad

More from Wisegeek

You might also Like

Discuss this Article

donasmrs
Post 3

@turquoise-- I agree that if you want halal gelatin, you should shop from a grocery selling halal products. Most Muslim majority countries only produce and sell halal gelatin. So if you visit an Arab, Pakistani or Turkish grocery store, you can find halal gelatin and other halal products easily.

I think the closest gelatin to halal gelatin at regular grocery stores is kosher gelatin. But I'm not sure if it's suitable for Muslims to eat kosher products.

fify
Post 2

@turquoise-- If they are not vegetable based, usually they are not halal.

If a gelatin product does not specifically say halal or if it does not say "bovine gelatin" which means that the gelatin comes from cows, it's best to assume that it is non-halal.

You can find halal gelatin at most groceries selling products for Muslims. Or you could just use vegetable based gelatin, although I don't think this type of gelatin is as beneficial.

turquoise
Post 1

So are the gelatin packets sold at the grocery halal?

I looked at the packaging but couldn't find any information about it.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email