Category: 

What is Halal Cuisine?

Article Details
  • Written By: Sheri Cyprus
  • Edited By: Heather Bailey
  • Images By: Aleksandar Todorovic, Marco Mayer, Mikey
  • Last Modified Date: 16 September 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
The U.S. Coast Guard led the evacuation of more than 500,000 people from Lower Manhattan on 11 September 2001.  more...

September 27 ,  1940 :  The World War II Axis powers formed with the signing of the Tripartite Pact.  more...

Halal cuisine is food that follows the dietary laws of the Muslim religion. The Arabic word halal refers to everything that is allowable according to the laws and customs of Islam. Animals that eat blood or meat are not a part of halal cuisine.

The guidelines of halal have some similarities to the kosher rules of Judiasm. The word kosher is derived from the Hebrew word kashur, which refers to anything that is suitable to consume. Like Jews, Muslims don't eat pork products and just as product packaging may be labeled kosher, others are labeled halal. Yet, not all kosher products are halal. For example, marshmallows containing gelatin, which may be made from the marrow of beef bones, or cookies containing beef fat may be kosher, but not halal.

Muslims following halal cuisine guidelines must only eat animals that were slaughtered with the name of Allah spoken. This is not the case with Jewish kosher meat. Unlike Muslims slaughtering animals for halal cuisine, Jews don't say the name of God when slaughtering animals to meet kosher standards.

The grain-eating animals killed in the name of Allah are known as zabiha animals. Halal cuisine also includes milk, vegetables, fruits, nuts, legumes, grains and fish. Foods and beverages that aren't halal are haram, which means forbidden. Wine and alcohol are haram except in some Turkish versions of halal. When halal foods may be difficult to find, Muslims may carry halal products with them.

Ad

There are restaurants worldwide that specialize in halal cuisine. Lebanese, Turkish and Moroccan restaurants usually feature some types of halal dishes. Popular restaurant or homemade halal recipes include fried or marinated chicken and baked or curried fish. Almond coconut cookies are favorite halal sweets.

The Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA) notes that the Muslim meals offered by many airlines aren't halal cuisine since zabiha animals aren't specifically mentioned in the ingredients list of the meat dishes. IFANCA recommends that Muslim airline travelers should ask for halal meals and make sure the airline officially tracks their requests. According to IFANCA, if airlines receive enough of a demand for halal meals, it may warrant them offering halal cuisine in the future.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

anon86857
Post 3

Gelatin from marrow of beef is halal only if the beef was slaughtered in the halal way. Otherwise, the beef gelatin is not halal.

anon72422
Post 2

well actually, the information was just what i wanted, but gelatin is horrible. I'm a vegetarian. Are there any meals i can trust?

it all has gelatin. I'm sick of gelatin. it's in every single meal in the world? why? (I'm 13)

anon36686
Post 1

Gelatin made from the marrow of beef is Halal, while Gelatin made from Pigs is not.

Cookies containing beef fat is Halal too!!

Anything that lives in water is Halal

(Mostly Muslims try to avoid alcohol and pigs stuff, that's the main rule)

Another important thing of slaughtering animal, is it should be done with very little pain to the animal, and the blood must go away, and most importantly the animal must be totally healthy.

The mentioning of Gods name before slaughtering the animal means:(We are doing that because God who creates both of us allows us to do so, not because we want to kill you). Its about eating it by the name of God.

Hope that helps. thanks

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email