Category: 

What Is Halal Chocolate?

Halal markets sell a wide variety of halal foods and products, including halal chocolate.
Halal chocolates.
Halal chocolates contain no animal fats or alcohol.
Halal chocolate is acceptable under the Quran's guidelines.
In a general sense, "halal" means "lawful" in Arabic, and refers to that which is permitted under the rules of Islam.
Article Details
  • Written By: Lakshmi Sandhana
  • Edited By: PJP Schroeder
  • Images By: Mikey, n/a, Fotoschuh, Egypix, Aleksandar Todorovic
  • Last Modified Date: 21 October 2014
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2014
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Coloring your hair in the ‘30s often came with swollen eyelids, blisters and headaches.  more...

October 21 ,  1879 :  Thomas Edison lit up a light bulb for the first time.  more...

Halal chocolate is considered fit for consumption with respect to Islamic dietary guidelines stated in the Quran. Foods that contain unlawful ingredients or are prepared and transported in ways that break these guidelines are considered haram. Halal chocolate doesn't contain unlawful ingredients like alcohol or animal fats and doesn't come into contact with haram substances during processing, transport, or packaging.

Muslims are required to eat only halal food, and practicing Muslims are advised to avoid food or drink if they are doubtful about them. It can be very hard to figure out what chocolate or other foods contain because ingredients can have very fancy names. It's easy to identify food that has gelatin, pork, or alcohol in it if these ingredients are listed directly, but complex terms or substances derived from haram products can easily confuse a person. If a food is considered haram, then boiling, liquefying, or processing it in any way does not change its haram status.

Additives that are derived from haram ingredients are also forbidden. If the ingredients or their sources are not clear, then they fall under the doubtful category, which is called mushbooh. If the chocolate has any mushbooh ingredients, then under Islamic guidelines, it is best to avoid it. Concerned Muslims can call or write to the manufacturer of a company to clarify whether an ingredient is permitted or forbidden.

Ad

Chocolate that has ingredients like animal fats or alcohol is haram. If alcohol is used to clean the machinery that makes the chocolate bars, then that chocolate is also considered unfit for consumption for Muslims. If the glue used in the packaging is derived from animal fats, that also makes the chocolate haram. For chocolate to be classified as halal chocolate, not only must it not contain unlawful ingredients, but it cannot be processed or stored or transported in ways or facilities that are haram.

Halal ingredients also cannot come into direct contact with haram food if both are processed in the same facility. Halal chocolate began as a specialty found only in select stores. It has become widely popular and can now be found in popular supermarkets that carry a range of other halal foods. This type of halal chocolate is specifically made by halal companies and marketed as such.

To find out if any popular brand of commonly available chocolate is halal, a careful study of the ingredients is necessary. Some websites carry lists of halal and haram ingredients that may be helpful. Alternatively, some sites list popular chocolates that can be classified as halal chocolate.

Ad

More from Wisegeek

You might also Like

Discuss this Article

literally45
Post 3

@discographer-- It was probably a case of cross contamination. If the chocolates are produced in a facility with non-halal items, contamination can occur. That's why some Muslim organizations test popular food items for non-halal ingredients. I suggest checking their findings to determine which chocolates are halal.

I actually think that mass produces chocolates are safer than chocolates made by small confectioneries. Confectioneries tend to experiment a lot with their ingredients and a lot of non-halal ingredients can find their way. My coworker's husband is a chocolatier and he makes some strange chocolates sometimes. He even had one with worm and alcohol in it, to mimic a tequila drink that is served with a worm on the bottom of the glass apparently. I think that would definitely be a nightmare for a Muslim!

discographer
Post 2

@ZipLine-- Isn't chocolate just made of cocoa butter and cocoa powder. How does pig DNA end up in it? That's crazy. Chocolate should automatically be halal. It's not a food item that requires very different and strange ingredients.

ZipLine
Post 1

I remember a few years ago, a popular international chocolate brand's products were recalled in Malaysia because they found pork DNA in them. It was shocking and I have not purchased that brand ever since.

It's a bit of a challenge to get halal products in the US. I usually have to order the online and the cost goes up. But I'd rather pay a little more and know for sure that what I'm eating is halal. Considering the number of Muslim consumers, I wish US food brands would produce more halal products.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email