Category: 

What Is Gluten-Free Pita Bread?

Article Details
  • Written By: Angie Pollock
  • Edited By: A. Joseph
  • Last Modified Date: 11 September 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
The U.S. Coast Guard led the evacuation of more than 500,000 people from Lower Manhattan on 11 September 2001.  more...

September 27 ,  1940 :  The World War II Axis powers formed with the signing of the Tripartite Pact.  more...

Gluten-free pita bread is a type of pita bread that does not contain a protein called gluten. Gluten is a component of various grains such as wheat and barley. This protein has been linked to digestive disorders, including celiac disease. A person who has difficulty digesting gluten will often avoid the protein by purchasing or making gluten-free foods such as pita bread or sandwich bread.

Various types of grains, such as buckwheat and corn, do not contain glutens and are generally safe for a gluten-free diet. In the case of grains and starches such as rye and bulgur, the gluten content creates a reaction within the small intestine. This reaction can cause abdominal pain, but it can also have a long-term affect on the body. As the small intestine continually reacts with the gluten, important nutrients are lost, leading to deficiencies of vitamins that the body needs to function correctly. This condition, known as celiac disease, is why gluten-free food sources are needed.

Gluten is most often associated with bread, but any food that uses a grain or starch might contain this protein. These foods include cookies, cereals and even beer, to name a few. Gluten has its own unique characteristics. For example, it will not dissolve in water, and it cannot be extracted from the grain.

Ad

The inability to remove gluten from grains is the reason why alternative sources are needed for products such as gluten-free pita bread. In the grocery store, these foods are often labeled as “gluten-free.” With this labeling, people who are following a gluten-free diet can rest assured that they can eat the food without the risk of a reaction.

Pita bread is a common staple in many household pantries. The bread consists of two sides that are attached with the exclusion of a small opening. This opening is used to stuff a variety of ingredients into the slices to create a type of sandwich called a pita. Pita bread has a shape and texture that are different from those of typical sliced bread, which makes it a popular alternative. For people who are suffering from gluten intolerance, gluten-free pita bread can be an ideal substitute.

With the increased awareness of conditions such as celiac disease, food companies have provided new ways for consumers to enjoy their favorite edibles, such as pita bread, without the addition of gluten. Gluten-free pita bread simply omits the grains that contain the protein and uses grains and starches that are safe for a gluten-free diet, such as amaranth or rice flour. Creative cooks have also learned ways to make homemade gluten-free breads and pita bread in their own kitchens by using this same technique.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

Ocelot60
Post 2

@heavanet- I agree with you, and think that anyone who wants to try bread without gluten should try gluten free pita bread. It is usually available at most health food stores.

Heavanet
Post 1

I have tasted gluten free pita bread, and I couldn't tell the difference between it and regular pita bread. Anyone who needs to eat gluten free foods should not be frustrated, but excited to try new foods. I think that gluten free pita bread is one that is enjoyable to anyone, regardless of whether or not he or she has to eat a diet without gluten.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email