Category: 

What is Dubliner Cheese?

Article Details
  • Written By: Angie Bates
  • Edited By: John Allen
  • Last Modified Date: 08 November 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Although they mainly functioned as downspouts, gargoyles were also intended to scare people into attending church.  more...

December 3 ,  1989 :  The Cold War officially ended.  more...

Dubliner cheese is a type of Irish cheese that is named after the Irish capital city, Dublin. This cheese is made in Ireland and imported to many European countries as well as the United States. Dubliner cheese was first made in 1996 by John Lucey and is now mass produced under the brand Kerrygold. This is one of the few cheeses that may be considered vegetarian friendly.

Made from cow's milk, Dubliner cheese is firm and is pale yellow to nearly white. Called a robust cheese, it is both sharp and sweet. Dubliner has a texture close to Parmesan, but comparisons with cheddar have also been made. A mature cheese, it is aged for a year before it is sold. There is also a vintage variety that is aged for two years.

Dubliner cheese can be found online or in stores. It is sold sliced, in bricks, or grated. In Ireland it is generally available in 2.5 kilogram (5.5 lb), 400 gram (14 oz), and 200 gram (7 oz) sizes. In the United States, it is often sold in 8 ounce (227 g) or 1 pound (0.45 kg) quantities. For an imported, specialty cheese, Dubliner is generally not as costly as many similar cheeses.

Ad

The cheese can be eaten alone, on cheese trays, paired with wines and beers, grilled on sandwiches, or grated on pasta. It is also used in some Irish recipes for tarts and can substitute for Parmesan cheese as well. Considered a gourmet, yet simple, cheese, Dubliner is best when served at room temperature. A serving of 3.5 ounces (100 grams) of Dubliner cheese contains 390 calories, 32 grams of fat, and 0.2 grams of carbohydrates. Cheese is also a good source of protein and calcium, which aids in teeth and bone health.

To make cheese, milk is heated and then rennet, an acidic liquid used to curdle the milk, is added. Rennet is generally found in the stomach juice of animals. Since Dubliner is a vegetarian-friendly cheese, the traditional rennet is replaced by microbial elements. Once the milk is curdled, the curds are separated from the whey, or the liquid, and salt is added to stabilize and preserve the cheese. Curds are then put into a cheesecloth and allowed to mature before being packaged and sold.

Dubliner cheese places a "suitable for vegetarians" label on its cheese packages. Although Dubliner cheese is vegetarian friendly, it is not suitable for vegans since it is made with animal milk. Vegan-friendly cheeses are made from soy or rice milk rather than animal milk.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

anon295819
Post 5

A lot of cheeses are vegetarian friendly because they use microbial rennet. One easy way to tell if a cheese is safe for strict vegetarians is to look for a kosher symbol. Kosher law requires that dairy and meat products be separated at all times.

Companies can pay qualified rabbis to inspect and ensure that their products are kosher, and can them use use one of several legally protected kosher symbols. These symbols usually have a k in them, or the product might say 'pareve'. I used this all the time when I was a strict vegetarian.

anon232191
Post 4

@jonrss: I think you should read how rennet is sourced before making such a comment. Of course it is not suitable for vegetarians because dried and cleaned stomachs of young calves are used to coagulate the milk to make cheese.

gravois
Post 3

I have had Kerrygold dubliner cheese before and I really liked it but I am wondering if there is anyone else who makes this distinctive form of brick cheese? I would love to try another interpretation just to see what kind of variety is available. I have never tried to buy cheese online but this might be the time to start.

jonrss
Post 2

The idea of "vegetarian" cheese really makes me laugh. This is just another example of how hyper sensitivity and misplaced priorities lead some members of our society to make ridiculous distinctions like this.

How could someone logically think that eating a tiny amount of some animal byproduct is unacceptable but eating cheese, a milk product, is morally and ecologically acceptable? People should think of the treatment of dairy cows and not quibble over distinctions like this.

nextcorrea
Post 1

I am a huge fan of Dubliner cheese. In fact, I like it so much that I usually try and avoid it when I see it on a buffet table on as part of a cheese plate because I know that if I try just one little piece I will want to eat all of it.

But I allow myself to indulge every once in a while. All things in moderation right. I love to eat the cheese on top of a good wheat cracker and if I am really feeling frivolous I will put on a piece of summer sausage and a dab of spicy mustard. I could eat that ever day in a perfect world.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email