Category: 

What Does It Mean to Be Halal Certified?

Article Details
  • Written By: Eugene P.
  • Edited By: Angela B.
  • Last Modified Date: 31 October 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
NASA scientists have discovered a class of stars with atmospheric temperatures cooler than the human body.  more...

December 2 ,  1982 :  The first permanent artificial heart was implanted in a human.  more...

Halal certification for a food production facility, food product or slaughterhouse means an independent organization has performed an inspection and found that the people, practices and products adhere to Islamic dietary laws. Foods that are halal certified are usually permitted to use a specific seal or stamp to indicate that it was independently inspected. There are hundreds of organizations around the world that offer certification services, though the exact definition of what is halal is not always the same beyond certain core laws. These differences mean that what might be considered halal for one organization is not for another, leaving consumers of halal certified foods to do their own research on what a particular company considers halal.

The lack of a single organization that provides a unified set of rules for determining what should be halal certified means the process varies from one organization to the next. All certifications require a physical inspection of the facility in question. During this initial visit, many aspects of production are examined to see whether they follow strict Islamic laws. The most important laws are that ingredients are segregated from non-halal products, that they are handled in a permissible way, and that no forbidden products are being used.

Ad

After the initial inspection, some companies will go a step further and begin to qualify any imported or processed ingredients to ensure that they also can be halal certified. This involves determining that no product used in the production of the food has any forbidden ingredients in it. The process can take some time, especially in cases where ingredients come from different countries around the world.

If the process and the ingredients are all found to be halal, then the facility can use a stamp or seal that indicates it is halal certified. This can make it easier for consumers who are leading a halal lifestyle to find products that are permissible. Some organizations only inspect the facilities once, while others require regular inspections every few months or every year. A few rare certification organizations actually have inspectors oversee production several times a week, if not on a daily basis.

A different way of testing whether food should be halal certified involves chemical analysis of the products. This technique is used when items are being imported after production. The basic concept is to take samples of the product and test them chemically for the presence of different types of forbidden ingredients. If the food passes the tests, then it is halal certified; if it does not pass the tests, it is considered haram, or forbidden. This form of certification is not always accepted, because it can miss some handling issues and, if the food is deemed haram, then it still may find its way onto store shelves and might be purchased by someone thinking it is halal.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

discographer
Post 4

@bear78-- Halal and kosher are not the same but some Islamic leaders feel that kosher certified foods are also halal and can be eaten. This is basically due to the fact that kosher products do not contain any pork. Of course, there are exceptions to this rule. Obviously something like kosher wine is not halal. But kosher crackers and cookies and gelatin, for example, are halal and can be consumed.

I'm not an expert though so ask your local imam for the most accurate answer and advice.

bear78
Post 3

@burcinc-- What about kosher foods? Are kosher and halal the same?

I don't have access to halal foods in my area. If I want halal food, I have to purchase it online and have it delivered so it can be very difficult. When in doubt, I choose the vegetarian and vegan version of something so that there is no chance of it containing anything from pigs.

There are kosher foods at stores though and I always wonder if I can have kosher foods and if they are acceptable.

burcinc
Post 2

I don't look for halal certified products for everything. I look at specific foods that are usually not halal under normal standards. This includes meat products and any product containing ingredients made from animal parts. For example, I would not buy any gelatin or cheese unless it is halal certified.

Aside from these though, most food groups are naturally halal. It's necessary to check whether eggs or milk are halal for example.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email