Category: 

What Are Vegan Beers?

Vegan beer.
Hops, which are used to make vegan beer.
Article Details
  • Written By: M.C. Huguelet
  • Edited By: Heather Bailey
  • Last Modified Date: 20 June 2014
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2014
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
The average age of a NASA engineer at the time of the Apollo missions was 28, now the average age is 47.  more...

July 29 ,  1976 :  The "Son of Sam" killed for the first time, beginning a long reign of terror on New   more...

While many people assume that beer is acceptable for consumption by vegans, or individuals who abstain from consuming products whose manufacture involved the exploitation of animals, in many cases it is not. Some beers contain animal products for flavoring or coloring purposes. In other cases, animal-derived products are used during the beer filtering process. Depending on a country’s food labeling regulations, brewers may not be required to indicate a beer’s vegan or non-vegan status on its packaging. Those who wish to consume only vegan beers might try contacting individual breweries or searching the Internet to find out whether a product is vegan-friendly.

As the basic recipe for beer consists of just yeast, hops, barley, and water, it is easy to understand how many people assume that all beer products are vegan beers. In truth, some beer manufacturers add animal or animal-derived ingredients to their beer recipes. Some, for instance, use honey or milk protein to give their recipes flavor. Others color their beers by adding extracts taken from insects.

Ad

Further complicating the issue of vegan beers is the fact that some beers do not contain animal-derived ingredients as such, but are filtered using animal-derived substances. Immediately after beer is brewed, it is often murky, and may contain small fragments of barley or other materials introduced during the brewing process. To eliminate these fragments and improve a beer’s clarity, brewers use a process called fining, or adding a substance which acts as a filter, dragging unwanted fragments to the bottom of the beer’s container. The substances used for fining are often derived from animals. Among other possibilities, they may include albumen, which is derived from eggs, isinglass, which is made from the swim bladders of fish, and gelatin, which is made from the bones of animals like pigs.

Depending upon a country’s food labeling regulations, brewers may not be required to indicate a beer’s vegan or non-vegan status on its packaging. In some cases, manufacturers may not even be required to list animal-derived substances on a beer’s ingredient list, especially if the substances are considered processing tools rather than true ingredients. It is important to keep in mind that even if a beer is clearly labeled vegetarian, it may contain animal-derived ingredients, such as dairy products, which make it unsuitable for vegans.

Those who want to ensure they are consuming only vegan beers might wish to try contacting a brewery to learn about their ingredients and brewing processes prior to purchasing a particular beer. Alternatively, it can be useful to browse one of the several Internet sites dedicated to the topic of vegan beer. Finally, those who wish to have total control over the ingredients of the beer they consume might consider home brewing.

Ad

Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email