Category: 

What are the Different Types of Vegetarian Dessert?

Article Details
  • Written By: Diane Goettel
  • Edited By: Bronwyn Harris
  • Last Modified Date: 11 November 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Helium is the only element that was discovered in space before it was found on Earth.  more...

December 10 ,  1948 :  The UN adopted the Universal Declaration on Human Rights.  more...

Fortunately for vegetarians, most desserts already are suitable for their diets. Ice cream, cake, pie, cookies, and most sweet pastries are made without the use of meat, poultry or fish. These dishes are made primarily with flour, eggs, milk, sugar, fruits, and candies, all of which are acceptable within the parameters of a vegetarian diet. Therefore, vegetarian dessert is rather easy to come by.

The only desserts that vegetarians usually have to be wary of are those made with gelatin. Gelatin, which is used to make Jell-O® and other desserts, is made from the bones, tendons, and skin of animals. For this reason, gelatin is not suitable for vegetarians. There are a number of vegetable-based products that can be used to substitute gelatin. Agar-agar, for example, is a product made from seaweed that can be used as a substitute for gelatin.

Gelatin is also sometimes used as a thickening agent in dairy products such as sour cream. Although sour cream made without gelatin is acceptable for consumption by vegetarians, sour cream thickened with gelatin is not. Some baked goods such as cakes and pies call for sour cream; therefore, in order these treats to be made in a manner that is suitable for vegetarians, they must be made with sour cream that does not contain any gelatin.

Ad

Many traditional recipes for pie crust call for lard, which is rendered animal fat. Any product made with lard is not suitable for vegetarians. In order to make a pie as a vegetarian dessert, the recipes must be altered so that they are made without this ingredient. As lard is less commonly used than it used to be, this is usually not difficult for anyone trying to bake a pie for a vegetarian dessert.

It is important to note that many desserts that are suitable for vegetarians are not suitable for vegans. This is because vegans are restricted to foods made without any sort of animals products, including dairy. Some vegans even refrain from consuming honey as it is a product that comes from bees. While ice cream and chocolate cake made with dairy products are just fine for vegetarians to eat, they can not be consumed by vegans.

There is one kind of vegetarian dessert that is also almost always suitable for vegans. This dessert is sorbet. Sorbet is usually made simply with fruit, sugar, and water. This vegetarian dessert is completely free of any kind of animal product which means that it can also be considered a vegan dessert.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

fBoyle
Post 3

@ZipLine-- Try a carrageenan based vegetarian gelatin. I think this is the best variety. I also use carrageenan to set practically any dessert where I can't use gelatin or other non-veg alternatives. It works very well. You can use it in puddings, ice cream and even frosting.

I also prefer fruit and nut based desserts as these are usually vegetarian and easy to make. If there is an ingredient I'm not sure about, I leave it out if it is not a must. Otherwise making vegetarian desserts can require a bit of research and preparation for ingredients. I don't stick to just American desserts though. Other cultures have wonderful desserts that are naturally vegetarian, like baklava for example.

ZipLine
Post 2

There is vegetarian gelatin products out there but personally, I don't feel that they are as good as the non-vegetarian ones I had tried before I made the switch. The consistency is fairly similar with the use of agar but I find the taste to be slight different.

literally45
Post 1

I'm vegetarian and I don't have difficulty finding desserts suitable for me. Almost all of them are suitable. Like the article said, I just have to watch out for animal products.

My sister, on the other hand, is vegan and it's difficult for her to find vegan dessert. She usually has to make it herself and she has to find alternatives for many of the ingredients. This is just one reason why I don't think I could be vegan. I like that I can have a nice slice of cheesecake or a cupcake at practically any cafe I visit.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email