Learn something new every day More Info... by email
A vegan diet has many strict rules that determine what snacks are acceptable. Vegans, like vegetarians, do not consume any meat, poultry, or fish products. They also eliminate other animal products from their diet such as milk and dairy products, eggs, and honey.
With these ample restrictions on the acceptable food choices, selecting appropriate vegan snacks may seem like a daunting task. Fortunately, many large food companies have recognized the need for vegan choices and provide packaged snack products which adhere to vegan restrictions.
The People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) has identified a long list of products that are safe for vegans to eat. Among them are candies such as Blow Pops, Charms lollipops, Dots, Fireballs, Jujubes, and Jolly Ranchers. Other sweets such as cookies are prevalent on the list. Several types of Famous Amos® Sandwich Cookies, Food Lion Sandwich Cookies, Lance® Sugar Wafers, and Nabisco Oreo® cookies are acceptable vegan snacks as well.
For a salty choice, PETA has identified several types of chips and pretzels that are vegan snacks. On the list are Original Fritos® and Barbeque Fritos®, Kettle® Brand Sea Salt and Vinegar Chips, Lay’s® Natural Country Barbecue Potato Chips and Thick Cut Sea Salt Potato Chips. Several varieties of Nabisco Triscuit Crackers, and many kinds of Snyder’s Pretzel Sticks are vegan as well.
For many, making vegan snacks from scratch can be an easier and more reliable way of determining whether the selected foods adhere to their dietary needs. Bruschetta, garlic toast, and cheese toast are easy-to-prepare snacks. These must be made with vegan margarine and bread, and prepared without eggs or milk to be acceptable.
All fruits and vegetables are vegan. A quick and simple snack can consist of whole fruits, fruit salad, or fruit leather. Vegetable sticks such as carrots, celery, and bell peppers are healthy snacks as well. Hummus, made with chick peas, tahini, lemon juice, and garlic, is a creamy vegan dip ideal for fresh veggies.
Protein is often lacking in a vegan diet, so snacks that incorporate a healthy helping of protein-rich foods are a great choice. Peanut butter spread on celery sticks, apple slices, or vegan crackers is a quick and easy way to get some protein in. A small serving of broccoli and brown rice or tofu and almonds are other protein-rich snacks.
Though vegans do not eat any type of dairy product, soy alternatives have made many typically dairy foods available. Soy yogurt and soy ice cream are widely available in a variety of flavors. Soy milk can be used to prepare oatmeal for a snack.
Overall, vegans have a wide variety of snacking options available from commercially prepared products to simple homemade snacks. To ensure that packaged foods are vegan, the consumer should always read the label carefully as preparation methods and ingredient lists can change frequently. As long as no animal products are used in the preparation of the item, it can be considered vegan.
One of our editors will review your suggestion and make changes if warranted. Note that depending on the number of suggestions we receive, this can take anywhere from a few hours to a few days. Thank you for helping to improve wiseGEEK!