Category: 

What Are the Different Types of Vegan Gluten-Free Foods?

Article Details
  • Written By: Eugene P.
  • Edited By: Angela B.
  • Last Modified Date: 29 October 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Snake charmers get snakes to “dance” because of the movement of their flute-like instruments, not their music.  more...

December 4 ,  1945 :  The United States Senate approved of US participation in the United Nations.  more...

Following a strict vegan gluten-free diet requires careful planning and accurate information about the foods being eaten. It is easy to avoid what is not allowed, but sometimes harder to plan for what is. Vegetables and nuts are important parts of this type of diet. They can be supplemented with items such as rice and tofu to help make a complete dish, while fruits and chocolate can serve as a satisfying dessert. Even though the rules might seem restrictive at first, the combination of cooking at home and finding premade foods can provide a diverse selection of meals.

Fruits and vegetables are two of the primary foods for those following a vegan gluten-free diet. They do not contain gluten and abide by all vegan restrictions. While nearly any combination is good, it is important to make sure that enough calories are consumed at each meal to remain healthy.

Nuts are an excellent source of protein and other essential vitamins. As well as being a nice snack, they also are a useful ingredient for cooking and can help to add moisture and texture to a dish. When baking, they can act as a binder when combined with other ingredients.

Ad

Many confectionary ingredients are vegan gluten-free foods. Chocolate and vanilla are both safe to eat. Although standard wheat flour cannot be used to make cakes and cookies, substitutes such as coconut or almond flour will work in many recipes. Syrups, sugars and some types of flavored icings follow the specific dietary guidelines.

One important food that can factor into a vegan gluten-free diet is rice. Rice is an excellent extender and can be used as a base for a wide range of meals. There are a number of varieties available for different situations, as well. The starches mean rice can be used to create patties and loaves.

Soy also can help to round out dishes and make them feel more filling. It is both gluten-free and vegan. Not only is it included in many pre-made foods, but it is very versatile when purchased as tofu. Tofu and soybeans will take on the flavor of the spices and ingredients in which they are cooked.

One potential source for vegan gluten-free foods is a store that carries both types of products. Many foods are naturally gluten-free and some companies intentionally ensure their food is gluten-free. These companies also may produce foods that are vegan, targeted to a vegan market. It is possible to find vegan gluten-free foods that are frozen, canned or otherwise packaged, even in a large supermarket.

It might still be difficult to locate a consistent, varied source for vegan gluten-free foods. The specifics of this diet are somewhat outside the mainstream cuisine that many people are used to eating. For this reason, an important skill for anyone on a vegan gluten-free diet to learn is cooking. Creating food from scratch in the home is one way to ensure that all dietary restrictions are met.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email