@Subway11 - I know what you are saying, and they are creating more monitoring devices to keep track of habitual offenders. They are trying to pass a law in Florida that requires that those charged with a repeat DUI offense will have to use a machine that is connected to the ignition of the car that will not allow the car to start if the driver is impaired.
The cost will also be up the defendant. There are people for and against the bill as you can imagine, but at least law makers are trying to do more about these laws. I know for example, in most states the misdemeanors are classified by the severity of the crime.
For example, a class a misdemeanor punishment in Texas can result in up to a $4,000 fine and a year in prison. A class b misdemeanor punishment in Texas carries a fine of up to $2,000 and up to a six month prison term.