Category: 

What Are the Different Types of Lactose-Free Foods?

Article Details
  • Written By: Lee Johnson
  • Edited By: John Allen
  • Last Modified Date: 15 November 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
The great magician and escape artist Harry Houdini died on Halloween in 1926.  more...

December 11 ,  1946 :  UNICEF was established.  more...

Lactose is a sugar found in the milk of cows and other mammals such as goats and sheep. Many different types of lactose-free foods exist, including most meat, fruits and vegetables, butter, oils, and some types of bread. Even milk, the primary source of lactose, can be found which does not contain any lactose. Soups which are like broths, with no cream or milk added, are also lactose free. In addition, many sweets, such as gelatin, licorice, and fruit Popsicles, are also free from lactose. Essentially, most non-dairy products can be classified lactose-free foods of one type of another.

Fruits and vegetables are two major varieties of lactose-free foods. As long as the vegetables aren’t breaded or serve in a creamy sauce, they are all lactose-free. Fruits generally aren’t served this way, and as a result, none contain lactose. These are also types of food which contain a lot of vitamins and nutrients required for a healthy diet.

Meats are another large group of lactose-free foods. Meat is the muscle tissue of animals, and as such doesn’t contain any lactose, unless the meat has been breaded or cooked in a sauce containing lactose. This means that anybody suffering from lactose intolerance can eat beef, pork, lamb, poultry, and fish with no problems at all. Many sausages, frankfurters, and some luncheon meats do contain lactose, however. Most meat-free alternatives like tofu, nuts, and seeds are lactose-free foods.

Ad

Several breads and grains are lactose-free foods. Any type of bread made primarily from water, such as French or Italian bread, does not usually contain any lactose. Other things like rice cakes, rusks, and popcorn cakes also don’t contain lactose. Most grains are also lactose-free foods, meaning that a person who suffers from lactose intolerance can eat pasta, rice, oats, bulgar, and cornmeal without any problems. Some breads, muffins, waffles, and pancakes are made using milk, and are not suitable for those with lactose intolerance.

Most other foods are types of lactose-free foods. Literally anything not made from a milk or cheese product is lactose-free. This adds a large amount of foods such as popcorn, ketchup, jam, jelly beans, and mayonnaise to the list of lactose-free foods. People suffering from lactose intolerance should look over the ingredients of anything that they suspect may contain milk. Generally speaking, however, most foods are free from any lactose and are therefore safe for anybody with lactose intolerance to eat.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email