Category: 

What Are the Different Types of Halal Drinks?

Article Details
  • Written By: T. Carrier
  • Edited By: John Allen
  • Last Modified Date: 01 December 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Helium is the only element that was discovered in space before it was found on Earth.  more...

December 10 ,  1948 :  The UN adopted the Universal Declaration on Human Rights.  more...

Halal drinks are beverages that abide by certain dietary laws in the religion of Islam. Most beverages are halal provided they do not contain certain additives like alcohol or pork products. Cleanliness in preparing the drinks is also important. Types of halal drinks include water, milk, and fruit or vegetable juices. Soft drinks may or may not be halal depending on specific processing standards.

Individuals in the Islamic faith typically follow a set of spiritual laws and customs known as sharia. As such, a wide variety of behaviors and objects are considered either halal or haram. The former word references something that is permissible, whereas haram refers to those things that are unlawful under sharia. Rulings about these distinction often depend on the discretion of a mujthahid, and the rulings generally derive from holy texts such as the Koran.

Food and drink are one common area of concern for individuals practicing sharia law. An individual should be familiar with what is not allowed in order to better understand things that are permissible. For example, alcohol consumption is strictly forbidden, and any product containing even slight traces of pork or birds with talons are also haram. Certain parts of animals are also restricted, including blood and marrow. In addition, the equipment used in preparing products and the methods of storage for these products should be halal and not contaminated with haram substances.

Ad

As such, processed drinks like soft drinks may or may not be considered halal drinks. If methods of preparation and storage are considered sanitary, then the beverages would be considered halal. Cleanliness includes not only considerations about the equipment and storage, but also about the sanitation of the overall environment and the cleanliness of the workers. For example, working conditions that contain dirt or vermin would make products of this environment haram, as would unhealthy or unsanitary employees. Specific ingredients used in processed drinks should be halal as well.

Water is perhaps the most widespread and basic drink for humankind, and most forms of this vital substance are halal drinks. The exceptions are if the water is polluted in some way or if it is mixed with substances considered haram. Otherwise, this natural substance is permissible.

The same considerations apply to drinks that derive from plant products. In general, any kind of plant or product is halal, except for the aforementioned pork products and products from birds with talons. As such, fruit or vegetable-based beverages — including juices — would be mostly acceptable as halal drinks.

Dairy products like milk constitute another main category of beverages, and in most cases these liquids are considered to be halal drinks. If the milk is taken from an animal that is considered halal such as a cow, then it is usually permissible to drink. Exceptions may occur if the milk-producing animal has routinely suckled milk from a haram animal like a pig. Mixing the beverage with forbidden substances such as alcohol would also harm its halal status.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

burcinc
Post 3

Pork products are usually not found in drinks. The areas of concern for drinks are the presence of alcohol and for yogurt drinks, if any rennet was used.

For most basic drinks though, such as tea, milk or fruit juices, it's not a problem. Last I heard, there was even a halal, alcohol-free wine drink on the market.

fBoyle
Post 2

@ddljohn-- Yes, there are a few consumer groups I know of that do test products to determine if they are halal or not. Now I don't know what kind of lab they use for their tests and whether they are reliable. But don't be too sure about soft drinks because some have been found to contain small amounts of alcohol. Sometimes it's due to a flavoring extract used in the soda such as vanilla extract. So sodas with vanilla flavoring should be avoided for example.

Each product should be tested individually though so it's not possible to generalize.

ddljohn
Post 1

How can I find out whether my favorite soft drink is halal? Is there an organization that tests these products?

I feel like most soft drinks on the market would be halal because they are sold in Muslim countries as well.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email