Learn something new every day
More Info... by email
Many types of gluten-free muffins exist for those who love muffins but have a gluten allergy, Celiac disease, or a gluten intolerance. Gluten is a protein found in some grains and occasionally in baking ingredients, so gluten-free muffins are made with modifications to replace ingredients with this protein. These muffins can be sweet or savory, with many different ingredients and flavors. Many options come in pre-packaged containers, fresh from bakeries, or as recipes to be made at home.
Sweet gluten-free muffins include those with chocolate or those with fruit. Popular examples include gluten-free chocolate chip muffins or gluten-free blueberry muffins. Many of these options can be found pre-mixed in specialty sections of some grocery stores. Other varieties exist exploring various fruit combinations as well.
Gluten-free muffins of the savory variety are not as frequently found in prepackaged containers. As the awareness of gluten intolerances and allergies increase, however, this may change. Examples of savory muffins include pumpkin miso or carrot and onion muffins. Savory muffins may also include, or be served with, cheese.
Culturally, muffins in the U.S. are often thought of as being in a large cupcake shape. One variation to this shape is the gluten-free English muffin. English muffins are flat, and can be savory or sweet, depending on the ingredients and on the spread. Gluten-free English muffins can be purchased prepackaged or they can be made at home with a recipe.
Some bakeries now offer gluten-free muffins for those who have little time or an aversion to cooking. Gluten-free bakeries offer various recipes of sweet and savory varieties. These bakeries operate both in brick and mortar establishments and online, for those without access to gluten-free facilities.
Gluten-free recipes generally replace the traditional wheat flour. Flour replacements can be purchased in ready-made packages. Another option for making gluten-free muffins is replacing wheat flour with another flour not containing gluten. Examples of these flour alternatives include coconut flour, almond meal and brown rice flour, though they add different tastes and often need to be coupled with some type of binding agent, such as xanthan gum.
Baking soda and baking powder occasionally include gluten, so special precautions should be taken when using these ingredients to make gluten-free muffins. Some baking sodas and powders now indicate whether or not they are gluten free, while some have no indication. Quick research can usually help identify the best option for gluten-free baking soda and powder before cooking.
One of our editors will review your suggestion and make changes if warranted. Note that depending on the number of suggestions we receive, this can take anywhere from a few hours to a few days. Thank you for helping to improve wiseGEEK!