Category: 

What Are the Different Types of Gluten-Free Kosher Foods?

Article Details
  • Written By: Eugene P.
  • Edited By: Angela B.
  • Last Modified Date: 11 September 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
The U.S. Coast Guard led the evacuation of more than 500,000 people from Lower Manhattan on 11 September 2001.  more...

September 27 ,  1940 :  The World War II Axis powers formed with the signing of the Tripartite Pact.  more...

Both the guidelines for following a strict kosher diet and those for following a gluten-free diet impose their own individual difficulties on a person looking for foods he can eat. When the two diets are combined, the selection of foods that can be eaten declines dramatically. Meats, especially unprocessed meats, are among the most reliably gluten-free kosher options. Fresh fruits and vegetables also are a safe choice, as are some types of beans, lentils and rice. Kosher cheeses are gluten-free, although staples such as matzo and certain traditionally prepared Jewish foods are not gluten-free.

Determining which foods qualify as gluten-free kosher can be difficult, largely because of the lack of regulations in different regions. Kosher foods that require special supervision or certifications during production are almost always marked with a seal. Gluten-free foods, however, are not always marked and can be marked incorrectly. Processed foods that are labeled as gluten-free might still carry the risk of cross-contamination, in which harmful proteins find their way into otherwise gluten-free foods, although some of the kosher laws regarding equipment and tools used in making food can help to reduce this risk.

Ad

Meats are naturally gluten-free, although they might not be kosher. It is usually easy to find kosher meats, and those that are not processed are automatically gluten-free. There are a variety of gluten-free pre-made kosher foods, such as beef hot dogs, that are very safe. If a processed meat product is not labeled as gluten-free and kosher, then it is probably a risk not worth taking.

Fresh fruits and vegetables are an excellent gluten-free kosher food. There is a wide selection and nearly everything that has not been processed is kosher. Additionally, these types of foods can provide important nutritional elements in a restricted diet. Vegetables also can make an excellent extender or filler for lighter dishes.

Many types of beans, legumes and other non-wheat plant products can be eaten and are intrinsically gluten-free kosher foods. Some options are soy, lentils, nuts, quinoa, lentils, kasha and chickpeas. These can be used to fill out a meal and provide some protein and starch. Rice is another gluten-free kosher option that can help to add variety to some dishes.

Cheese that is certified as gluten-free kosher can be a source of some proteins, vitamins and flavors for a larger meal and in baking. There are kosher cheeses available that use either kosher rennet or plant enzymes to cause coagulation. With the exception of contamination from non-kosher foods or gluten-containing products, certified cheeses are generally safe to eat.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email