Category: 

What Are the Different Types of Gluten-Free Chips?

Article Details
  • Written By: Patti Kate
  • Edited By: W. Everett
  • Last Modified Date: 30 August 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
In late 19th-century London, mail was delivered to residential addresses up to twelve times each day.   more...

September 28 ,  1924 :  Two US military planes complete the first flights around the world.  more...

Gluten-free chips, which are manufactured for individuals who must adhere to a gluten-free diet, come in varieties such as potato chops and corn chips. These types of chips do not contain the protein known as gluten, commonly found in wheat and barley. Chips like tortillas, which are made from corn, are safe for individuals who cannot tolerate gluten. Nacho chips are generally gluten-free, as are rice chips, which also do not contain the protein.

Individuals with celiac disease or gluten allergies should always read labels to be sure a product is gluten free. Many varieties of potato chips are gluten free. These may include sour cream and onion potato, or nacho-flavored chips. Potato gluten-free chips with ranch flavor are generally safe for those adhering to a gluten-free lifestyle. Jalapeno potato chips, salt and vinegar potato chips, and barbecue-flavored chips also typically do not contain gluten.

When choosing any variety of gluten-free chips, it's important to choose a brand that has been prepared and produced in a gluten-free area of the manufacturing plant. This is to ensure there is no risk of gluten cross contamination from other products that are made at the plant.

Ad

Gluten-free foods and snacks include rice products. Generally, any type of rice chip or cracker will not include this protein. Gluten may be found in rice chips if they've been cross contaminated by other products or if flavoring agents used in the chips contain gluten. Various types of gluten-free chips made with rice are sesame, barbecue, lime, and honey dijon mustard chips. Potato, corn, and rice chips made with sea salt are generally safe for gluten-free diets.

Black bean chips are a gluten-free snack made with whole black beans. This snack is considered a healthy alternative to other chips that may be fried or contain high amounts of fat. Alternately, pinto beans may be used. Most fat-free or low-fat chips are also gluten free.

Natural flax gluten-free chips are another choice for celiac sufferers. Flax has many health benefits, such as lowering blood cholesterol levels and blood pressure, as well as reducing inflammation. Flax chips are made with flax oil or flax seeds, and may be corn based.

Most supermarkets will contain a good variety of gluten-free chips and snack products. Some stores have a designated aisle of gluten-free products that are safe for any person with a gluten intolerance. Performing a simple Internet search may help locate stores which sell these products.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email