Learn something new every day
More Info... by email
Choline is an essential water-soluble nutrient that is usually found with B vitamins. This nutrient is necessary for the making of neurotransmitters and strong cell membranes, among other things. To get this nutrient, individuals can eat a variety of foods rich in choline, including certain types of meat, poultry, and dairy products. There are also some fruits, vegetables, nuts, and grains that are considered good sources of choline.
Meat is one type of foods with choline. Beef liver, in particular, is one of the best sources of choline. Just 3 ounces (85 grams) of liver contains more than 300 milligrams of choline. Chicken and fish also both contain high levels of choline. Both of these are also low in fat and cholesterol, and they are generally considered healthier than red meat.
Eggs typically also have a lot of choline. This nutrient, however, is found mostly in the egg yolks. In fact, dried egg yolk is considered to be one of the best sources of choline. One serving of dried egg yolk can contain more than ten times the amount of choline found in a single large egg.
The dairy aisle also can be a good source of foods with choline. Skim milk is a good source of choline. Other dairy foods with choline include ricotta cheese, cottage cheese, and yogurt.
Some fruits also contain decent amounts of choline. Berries, particularly raspberries and blackberries, are some of the best types of fruits rich in this nutrient. Figs and apricots are considered to have high levels of choline as well. Grapes and raisins also contain small amounts of choline.
Other foods with choline include vegetables. Broccoli, Brussels sprouts, and spinach contain high levels of choline, for example. Green peas, along with certain other legumes, are also considered to be rich in this nutrient.
Vegetarians can get the choline that they need from meat substitutes made from soy or tofu, which is made from soy milk. Soybeans and certain nuts are other types of foods with choline. Pistachios also have a lot of choline, as does wheat germ.
Since meat and eggs are a primary source of choline, certain vegetarians are at risk of becoming choline deficient. This is especially true for strict vegetarians who consume no animal products at all, including eggs and milk. While it is possible to get enough of this nutrient from fruits and vegetables, many vegans choose to take supplements that contain choline.
One of our editors will review your suggestion and make changes if warranted. Note that depending on the number of suggestions we receive, this can take anywhere from a few hours to a few days. Thank you for helping to improve wiseGEEK!