Category: 

What Are Halal Vitamins?

Article Details
  • Written By: Eugene P.
  • Edited By: Angela B.
  • Images By: Egypix, Mikey, Aleksandar Todorovic
  • Last Modified Date: 11 November 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
The mongoose was introduced to Hawaii in order to kill rats, but mongooses hunt in the day, while rats are nocturnal.  more...

December 7 ,  1941 :  Japanese bombers attack Pearl Harbor.  more...

Halal vitamins are vitamins that follow the Islamic guidelines for halal foods. Making halal vitamins means knowing the source of the ingredients and how they were processed. One of the primary reasons for a vitamin to be non-halal is the inclusion of gelatin rendered from animals such as pigs that are strictly forbidden. Although many companies make an effort to use only Quran-permissible products in their halal vitamins, unless they are certified, they cannot be guaranteed to be halal.

The rules of a halal diet are spelled out in detail in the Quran. The book says there are certain animals considered to be unclean or unhealthy and, because of this, are forbidden to be consumed in any form. In non-Muslim industrial countries, where halal diets are not as widespread, the source of many seemingly harmless ingredients is overlooked.

The gelatin used as an emulsifier in many types of vitamins and other pills can be rendered from different parts of pigs or other halal-forbidden animals that are inexpensive and widely available to manufacturers. The same type of emulsifier can be extracted from halal sources, such as soy and some other plants. There are no existing regulations about the origins of these ingredients in many countries, so it can be difficult to know their exact source.

Ad

Other parts of vitamins that could cause problems include vitamins A and D. These vitamins are sometimes fortified with Polysorbate 80, another emulsifier that can be derived from animal fats. The problem with this is that the source animal is often unknown, meaning that — unless certified — there is no guarantee they are halal vitamins. It is rare to fortify these vitamins with animal fat anymore, though.

Some liquid vitamins are expressly forbidden, because they contain small amounts of alcohol. These can include some over-the-counter children’s vitamins. Liquid vitamins also have many stabilizers, colorants and other ingredients that could have been extracted from so-called unclean animal parts or fats.

There are a great many ingredients that could be included in over-the-counter vitamins that are not required to be listed on the packaging, so just knowing which ingredients are halal is not always enough. Many organizations will certify, however, that vitamins are permissible and that all ingredients and the manufacturing process are halal. As of 2011, there are several commercially available halal vitamins in production around the world.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

sjody
Post 2

Soybean gelatin is a safer and halal gelatin. that is why kosher gelatin is halal too

Nutrition
Post 1

Good job. A few comments: gelatin is not an emulsifier. Gelatin is an animal by-product having gel-forming properties. The most common type of gelatin used by the food industry is pork gelatin, due to its price advantage. The product may have halal ingredients, but may have been manufactured on the product line where non-Halal products were also made. For example, bovine gelatin capsules can be made on the same line of pork gelatin capsules. The same rules and guideline are applied on Omega-3 fish oil. The majority of Omega-3 fatty acids supplements on the market contain or are derived from sources that are forbidden for Muslims (such as gelatin). --Emad Y.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email