Category: 

What Are Gluten-Free Bagels?

Article Details
  • Written By: T. Carrier
  • Edited By: John Allen
  • Last Modified Date: 08 September 2016
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2016
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Although Stonehenge is the most famous, there are over 1,000 ancient stone circles standing in the British Isles.   more...

September 26 ,  1960 :  The first televised US Presidential debate took place.  more...

Increasing numbers of diets promote gluten-free eating habits. Advocates claim that the absence of this protein can prevent conditions such as celiac disease and associated discomforting symptoms. Since many of the ingredients found in breads like bagels are associated with gluten, alternative recipes have diminished the presence of the substance. Gluten-free bagels thus contain gluten-free ingredients like cornstarch and sorghum. The result is a rounded piece of bread that in many cases tastes like a traditionally made bagel.

Diets that promote health come in many forms, and gluten-free diets are one such trend. These eating plans avoid a type of protein located in many grain products known as gluten. This substance is believed to aggravate certain conditions like skin inflammation and celiac disease, which irritates the intestines and causes symptoms such as tiredness and diarrhea. As such, foods high in gluten content like oats, wheat, and rye are discouraged. In contrast, the diet encourages foods considered gluten-deficient.

Due to its reliance on grains, gluten-free bread is an especially desirable aim for gluten-free diets. While this absence can effect a bread’s ability to rise and expand properly, adding ingredients such as eggs and corn starch can help curb negative side effects. An individual should also ensure that he or she is getting a proper supply of nutrients like iron, fiber, and calcium that may be diminished in gluten-free bagels.

Ad

Bagels are one particular bread favorite due to their chewy texture. In general, bagels are ring-shaped breads created from boiling and baking yeasted dough. Small food bits may be present in the bread or seeds may be sprinkled atop the crust.

Gluten-free bagels, regardless of specific recipes or methods, often contain shared ingredients. Non-traditional flour mixtures that contain substances like buckwheat flour, sorghum, sea salt, and xantham gum are a major fixture in many of these foods. Healthy additives such as olive oil and vegan sugar are also not uncommon. Many ingredients derive from foods that have low gluten contents, such as corn, potatoes, and nut flours.

Creation of gluten-free bagels typically consists of creating a yeast dough and then adding in a mixture of flours. Ingredients are then combined with a mixer or similar apparatus. Taste additives such as fruit or vegetable pieces may also be stirred into the mixture. This dough is then shaped into balls with a hole poked in the center, reminiscent of the typical bagel look. Once the dough has been allowed to expand or rise, cooks might boil and then bake the individual dough pieces for a finished batch of gluten-free bagels.

Ad

You might also Like

Recommended

Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email