Learn something new every day More Info... by email
Circus peanuts are a type of marshmallow candy. Contrary to the name, these candies have nothing to do with circuses, and little to do with peanuts. Many people are aware of this candy, and bringing them up in discussion is bound to result in a spirited debate, as some people adore them, while others are not so fond. Most candy stores and large markets carry circus peanuts, thanks to the number of companies that makes them.
Classically, circus peanuts are molded into the shape of peanuts, which explains the name, but they are banana flavored, and do not actually contain any peanuts. Just to add to the confusion, the candy is typically dyed orange, although it is also possible to find them in white, pink, and yellow upon occasion. The bizarre look and contradictory flavor may explain some of the reason why many consumers have difficulties with this candy.
This particular type of candy is extremely old. Circus peanuts were developed during the 1800s, and are in fact one of the oldest candies to remain continually on the market. Originally, they were only released during the spring, due to concerns about the candy's stability during other seasons. In the 1940s, plastic packaging and refined manufacturing techniques allowed companies to start offering them to their fans year-round.
The texture of circus peanuts varies, depending on how fresh they are. Extremely fresh ones will feel sort of like marshmallows in the mouth, with a chewy note. The longer the candy allowed to age, the more foamy it will get, with extremely stale pieces resembling styrofoam. Some people prefer the texture and flavor of stale circus peanuts, and they will leave a bag open for several days before eating the candy to allow it to age to the right texture.
This candy typically comes in large bags, and people sometimes see pieces lurking in candy samplers and office candy bowls. There are a number of companies that produce it, and all use more or less the same recipe. Nearly all brands include gelatin, so the candy is not safe for vegans and vegetarians.
One of our editors will review your suggestion and make changes if warranted. Note that depending on the number of suggestions we receive, this can take anywhere from a few hours to a few days. Thank you for helping to improve wiseGEEK!