Learn something new every day
More Info... by email
Buckwheat flour is derived from the seeds of the Fagopyrum esculentum plant, and it is naturally gluten-free. This type of flour comes in both light and dark versions, and each kind has a different taste. Organic gluten-free flour is available on the market, and it is often viewed as the best choice in terms of nutritional value and quality. Some cooks like to mix buckwheat with other types of flour, but you should refrain from purchasing mixed bags if you have intolerance to gluten protein. This kind of flour is the most appropriate for muffins and pancakes, as well as other baked goods.
This type of non-glutenous flour is available in a light or dark form, and your preference in taste will dictate which one is the best version for your recipes. Lightly-milled buckwheat flour has a mild taste, while the darker version exudes a strong, nutty flavor. Contrary to its name, buckwheat flour does not contain any wheat.
Many gluten-free flours, including buckwheat, are also sold in organic forms on the market. Conventional buckwheat is often harvested with pesticides, and other chemicals may be added during the processing of the seeds when they are milled for flour. Pure organic buckwheat flour does not contain any chemicals, and some users claim that the food has a stronger taste. When looking for organic flour, make sure that there is a certified seal on the package from a reputable agency that tests the brand periodically for its farming and processing practices to ensure that it is organic.
It is important that you read all ingredient labels carefully to ensure that the flour that you purchase is wholly derived from buckwheat. Since buckwheat might not rise as much during cooking compared to other conventional versions, some chefs combine it with other grain flours, such as wheat and brown rice. Some flour manufacturers have taken note of this trend, and a variety of the products actually contain multiple types of grains. If you are looking for gluten-free flour, then you will want to choose a version that does not contain certain ingredients, so be sure to read the ingredient label carefully.
Quality buckwheat flour is appropriate for the use in a variety of baked goods, including breads, pancakes, and muffins. The flour is also used to make Japanese noodles as well as crepes. Although traditional wheat-based flours are often used to prepare these types of foods, buckwheat is a good alternative if you do not want to consume glutenous products, whether you have Celiac disease or if you are following a particular diet plan.
One of our editors will review your suggestion and make changes if warranted. Note that depending on the number of suggestions we receive, this can take anywhere from a few hours to a few days. Thank you for helping to improve wiseGEEK!